We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locations, Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountain Cafe

Blue Mountain Cafe
26 South King St, Leesburg, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Jamaican
Restaurant details
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great locations, Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had dinner here and food was really good. The jerk is the not the grilled jerk that I was expecting, it was more of a stewed jerk, but absolutely delicious and falling off the bone. my sides were the sweet plantain, and rice and peas. Very good indeed. This restaurant is in historic Leesburg and well situated. Inside is very cute and homey. Very very good food indeed and a must have. Service was very very good indeed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Jamaican food created and served by the nicest people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I'll start by saying that I love this place. It's small, sure. The ambiance is that of a diner almost. But I don't do for a fine dining experience. What I go to Blue Mountain to experience is an hour of Jamaica time, great, great authentic Jamaican food and the service.

It's ok that the only Jamaican beer they serve is Red Stripe. Why you really want to visit is to experience the food. Everything from the oxtail to the jerk chicken to the curry goat to the ackee (fish) is marvelous.

Herman, the owner, and his wife Alyshia are perfect hosts and two of the friendliest people I've met. They will help you make your selection if you're unsure. They'll chat about anything if they have time and you're up for it. Just great people.

The patio out back is shared with Windy City Red Hots but is still a nice place to relax. But, in the heart on downtown Leesburg, it's a great place to let your hair down, enjoy something different, imagine yourself on an island and relax a while with friends old and new.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jerk Chicken and Red Stripe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Home place wit very good jerk chicken. Have the beer, the wine may have been open for a month and they don't seem to get that aged wine doesn't mean open a long time. For what it is, this solid Jamacian place, nothing fancy. Can be a little warm on a hot day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Caribbean Food, ok price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great jerk chicken and Caribbean dishes, average price. I work in Leesburg (contract mostly in Herndon though) and don't have a lot of money, but when I'm in Leesburg I occasionally eat here. Don't have a lot of staff (2-3 people max) so service isn't the quickest, but for a sit down it's decent (went with 3 coworkers once, place was empty besides us, was in and out in a hour). Great place to go if you want to here Bob Marley or reggie music with lunch. Got a TV in the one corner of the wall so you can watch sports, news, whatever too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great food. Cozy and Casual. Owners are great. Portions are huge and the sorbets for dessert were excellent. Has the curry chicken and the mango sorbet. Looking forward to the Brown CHicken stew next time. Will definitely revisit. Great find!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain Cafe also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Blue Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountain Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.