We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to knock back a few” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MacDowell Brew Kitchen

MacDowell Brew Kitchen
202 Harrison St SE, Leesburg, VA
703-777-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: http://www.facebook.com/pages/MacDowell-Brew-Kitchen/165330130205892
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good place to knock back a few”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I live within walking distance, which makes for some appeal. They always have a good beer selection, plenty of dark beers which I like (sharing a building with Doner Bistro helps). Personally, I haven't had their food in a while, this is more a place to go after dinner with a few friends or solo for a few beers. Service is prompt and quick, but that may be a function of when I go (summertime it is always crazy so speak up at the bar when you order or come early/late enough to beat the crowds; for wintertime try 8-9pm as it's after dinner and before the college-age crowd shows). During the winter they put out fire rings on the sand with seats around them. Had a nice outing a few months ago, stoking the coals and reading a good book. First time I went (a yr ago in late summer), had some fried Oreos and beer with friends after dinner- had a blast, but food service slow (not unexpected, MBK is a bar first). Beer is not cheap in this area in general, but MBK is average for the area ($6-7 a pint), so budget accordingly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Plethora of Craft Beer Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Their website stating that they brew their own beer brought us here but upon arrival the bartender stated they didn't have any of their own ready to drink - she stated it would be a few more weeks. Therefore, we set about sampling the wide variety of guests taps. The bartender allowed us to sample several beers before we settled upon which pints to order. She was extremely knowledgeable about craft beers and shared what she'd learned at a "field trip" some of the staff had taken to local breweries. We ordered basic fare - mozz sticks and pork potato skins. The skins surprised us because it was rib meat in them. The bartender stated we could wander upstairs to a different bar with a different beer selection and our tab would follow, so we did, but the upstairs was very disappointing compared to the downstairs. The bartender there knew nothing about craft beer. A live band played while a few people danced in a a more club like atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Beach in town. Nicely modeled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Outside is all sand. There is 2 boats outside. 1 is a bar, other a private table. A couple of fire pit casual seating. Adding lights. It's an American Caribbean. I can see how nice it would be at night.

Good list of beers with some haughty.

Food was tasty. I had a sweet and spicy chicken wrap. I enjoyed and would say. .. good.

Might be a Thursday noon time standing thing but delivery truck after delivery truck stopped at the Mill place mall across the street threatening to ruin a good review. Never been? Go at night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“They have taken the customer for granted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beer wasn't bad but overpriced. Food, oh my, not even sure where to begin. Greasy, and often times cold. Have tried this place several times (live within walking distance) and am done with it after the last outing. With Fireworks, Tuskies, Wine Kitchen, Doner and LBC all within walking distance I'll take my dollars elsewhere and frankly enjoy my evening, especially my food, far more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Beers on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Didn't have any foo, but had quite a few beers at the beach boat bar ( and some ciders) the staff was fast, friendly and generous and you can't really beat the beach atmosphere at night it's like a tiki party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacDowell Brew Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to MacDowell Brew Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacDowell Brew Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.