We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start - can't wait until they serve their own brews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MacDowell Brew Kitchen

MacDowell Brew Kitchen
202 Harrison St SE, Leesburg, VA
703-777-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 160 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Description: http://www.facebook.com/pages/MacDowell-Brew-Kitchen/165330130205892
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good start - can't wait until they serve their own brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Tried it out the other day - weather was nice, so we sat outside in the little Tiki-Bar area. Other than the fact that it is next to the (slightly busy) street, it was quite pleasant. Good reggae/indie music, comfy rustic table, white sand, and good service. I almost took my shoes off. Very relaxing.

We had a couple of the micro brews on tap, but MacDowell does not yet have a license to brew their own, so we had to settle for others. Their beer menu was small, and focused on Wheat and IPAs since it is summer.

Food was mostly fried - they could use more non-fried items on the menu. We decided on a couple salads that were perfectly dressed (not too much, not too little) but a little light on the non-lettuce ingredients. the hummus appetizer was nothing special.

We got a chance to talk to the owner who is quite nice and personable and wished him good luck in getting his license to brew his own. We will return when they do, and will take in a music night there as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, VA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Festive place to meet friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Went with friends and sat outside for beer & appetizers. Split the potato skins with the pork barbecue (name?) with my friend, which was perfect with my beer for a light dinner! Very yummy! Loved the beer (Starr Hill Northern Lights) the waitress recommended based on my description of what I like (hoppy but not too sweet/strong) - her suggestion was on the money. Place was busy on a Friday evening but we never had to wait too long for service. Lively and fun. Sand around tables on ground outside, so especially fun in summer - makes you feel like you're at the beach in Leesburg. Huge selection of beer, but food menu is not too extensive yet. However, it's just the right amount for a beer joint. Not an overwhelming menu, and what they have is excellent pub fare.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“HUGE beer selection and wonderful fish & chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stopped in for lunch today. The fish & chips were really good... not at all greasy and heavy like at many places. They aren't yet brewing their own beer but they're selling great stuff from all over. Today they had over 100 beers on their menu. (I think the waitress said 124!) This spot was a little hard to find since it isn't well marked. It is RIGHT across the street from Tuscarora Mill and now that I know the beer garden in the sand is theirs, I know that's how to spot it easily. Inside is quite small, but on a nice day the beer garden would be a great spot to hang out with some friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good on a bad day for them”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We went on a late Sunday afternoon and found a nice outside table under an umbrella, our waitress greeted us and instantly apologized. She said that they were very busy earlier and are almost sold out of all of their menu. Between Father's day and some big sports events everyone seemed to be out for lunch. So she told us what they had, and took our drink orders.

The setting was very cool, they had random tables and chairs,some palm trees, tiki torches, and the entire outside area had sand on the ground. So it had a nice beach feel to it. There was an area in one end of the outdoor area that had kids beach toys, trucks, buckets and shovels. This was a great thought on their part, our six year old was in heaven! And while playing some more kids showed up and they all stayed very busy between eating their meals.

The beer menu was over the top, they had what seemed like one hundred different beers to choose from. The menu had a lot of different items on it, not just typical burgers and sandwiches. We got a cranberry, blue cheese salad with pulled chicken on it, and vegetarian chili. It was all very good.

Pros: Beer menu, outdoor area, kids area, food
Cons: The inside is small, the outdoor area allows smoking

All in all, we liked the place and will go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacDowell Brew Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to MacDowell Brew Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacDowell Brew Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.