We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unknown Battle site.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery

Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery
Battlefield Parkway, Route 15, Leesburg, VA
703-779-9372
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Cemeteries, Battlefields, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A poignant and sobering reminder of a disastrous Union defeat during the Civil War.
Marianna, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Unknown Battle site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

For the history buff or for a nice evening walk, this hidden park is very nice.Tucked away in the bustling suburbs of Leesburg you will find the site of an accidental Civil War skirmish. At the end of the trail you will find a Union cemetery with graves of the unknown troops who fell that day. In the parking lot you will find a sign denoting the length of each trail. Also is a brochure describing a self-guided walking tour. Interpreter led tours are available on Saturdays and Sundays for an hour or two..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
littlestown
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“historical park ....great forall ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The easy to difficult longer walks were fairly well marked. Good educational services. I liked going here with my dog on a leash.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Looking for a nice walking train and learn some history at the same time? This is it. Close to Leesburg, but you need to go there to get there type of destination. The walk to the River is easy, but the long way back is a bear and quite long. Signs are informative and the battle, while small, was significant early in the war. Pack a snack, water bottle, and wear conformable walking shoes or boots if waling the longer trail. Nice romantic hide-a-way date destination. Quiet and intimate, but close to civilization and in a populated area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We often hike this trail on Thanksgiving morning. It is a nice length, about 50 minutes round trip. It is not steep, so it is fine for little kids. I suggest reading up on the battle so it is more meaningful when you reach the Potomac River and realize what happened. There is also a tiny cemetery that you pass by. It has never been crowded when we go, but I guess it could be.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“History and Exercise Combined!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We love to visit this park as a family. We have found it to be a great Saturday morning hike with the dog. The trails could be a little better marked, so print out a trail map before you go, and take it with you. The only amenity is a port-a-potty in the gravel parking lot, so don't expect luxury. I would say the views along the river are definitely worth the hike. There are plenty of open areas to picnic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.