We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery
Battlefield Parkway, Route 15, Leesburg, VA
703-779-9372
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 69 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A poignant and sobering reminder of a disastrous Union defeat during the Civil War.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A nice hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We often hike this trail on Thanksgiving morning. It is a nice length, about 50 minutes round trip. It is not steep, so it is fine for little kids. I suggest reading up on the battle so it is more meaningful when you reach the Potomac River and realize what happened. There is also a tiny cemetery that you pass by. It has never been crowded when we go, but I guess it could be.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History and Exercise Combined!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We love to visit this park as a family. We have found it to be a great Saturday morning hike with the dog. The trails could be a little better marked, so print out a trail map before you go, and take it with you. The only amenity is a port-a-potty in the gravel parking lot, so don't expect luxury. I would say the views along the river are definitely worth the hike. There are plenty of open areas to picnic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smallest National Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Battlefield is a wonderful place to soak up history and to hike. The Battlefield borders the Potomac River and the path travels down the bluff and goes quite a way along the river. A great hike for the whole family. Strollers could not take this hike.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great historical site small and compact site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Free is always good. Nice Civil War battle site with the smallest Natioal Cemetary. The battle had very signicant outcome to Congressional Military Oversight committee and also the death of a very close friend of Abraham Lincoln. The paths are very well marked with historical plaques and signs. Nice walk along small battlefield and nice scenery of the Potomac river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Smallest National Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A nice easy hike with Civil War significance. The country's smallest national cemetery is located here - quite an interesting battle to learn about.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ball's Bluff Battlefield and National Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.