We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Cost for Less Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   117 Fort Evans Road NE, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“High Cost for Less Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were married in October, and used the Hampton Inn as a preferred hotel for our wedding guests. They helped us reserve a block of rooms for our guests and offered us a fairly competitive rate. The main reason we initially choose the Hampton Inn was because of the shuttle they offered to and from our wedding reception, to make it easy on our guests.

Overall the hotel was satisfactory. The rooms were pretty nice, and certainly clean and orderly. They weren't particularly elegant for the cost, but not disappointing either. The breakfast in the morning was fair, but not fantastic.

Our concern with the hotel was in regards to the shuttle service. We were told the hotel would provide complementary shuttle service for our guests if they booked at least 10 rooms. We encouraged our guests to book at the Hampton Inn in order to get the free shuttle. However a week before the wedding, the hotel told us for the first time that the shuttle service stops at 10:00pm, whereas our wedding was ending at 11:00pm. I'm unsure if we missed this in writing or conversation, but it was certainly a surprise to us, with very little time to make other arrangements.

As we provided the hotel with nearly $1,500 in revenue for the weekend, we would have expected them to make an exception and run the shuttle until 11:00pm. We would have even been amenable to the hotel charging us for the additional hour of the driver's time, if necessary. However in the end, we were forced to find other transportation for our guests back to the hotel.

As it turns out, even though we had hired an independent shuttle, the hotel sent their shuttle anyway, at 10:00pm. We're not sure if this was our mix-up or theirs, but unfortunately it didn't help the situation.

Unless there were legal or insurance reasons for standing firm on the 10:00pm end-time for the shuttle, I'm surprised the hotel made this decision, and we certainly weren't informed of the reason. It seems like a poor business decision, as this review would be very different, had the hotel worked to accommodate our end-time. Combined with the perspective that the rooms were overpriced for their value anyway, and the number of competitors in the immediate area, we would not be using the Hampton Inn again if planning a large event.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    77
    30
    22
    7
See reviews for
90
50
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at this property for two nights in October 2010 while in the area on business. I was sold a king room for $145/night. While this is high for a mid-priced property, it is appropriate for the market.

The property is located just off the main thoroughfare in Leesburg. It is tucked behind a Homewood Suites and the properties share a common sign. The area just past the hotel appears a little rough. I would caution late night or early morning runners to take this into consideration. I felt perfectly safe on the property.

The exterior of the hotel is attractive, clean, neat and well lit. Parking is abundant but is limited in the front of the property.

The lobby is spacious and most attractive a sitting area features a large leather couch unit and wall mounted television. In short - very well done. Check-in was flawless as all documents were ready and the clerk was polite and helpful.

The room was clean, well appointed and stocked with typical Hampton amenities. The bath was found in the same condition. I was particularly impressed with the amount of work space and access to electrical outlets. The room was very well planned.

The property was quiet during the night and outside noise was non-existent. The only room noise was an occasional growl from the air conditioner compessor. Overall - no big deal.

Breakfast was standard Hampton fare and the staff member in that area stayed busy. There was little interaction noted with guests.

Check-out was flawless as the statement under the door was correct. The clerk asked if any directions were required, wished me a good day and invited me back. Great end to a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We came to Leesburg for a wedding over Labor Day weekend. The Hapmton Inn was the choice of the bride's family (friends of ours). The only problem we had was that on our 4th day of our stay our room was never cleaned. We called the front desk when we got back to our room at 5:30 pm and told them. The clerk at the front politely asked if we wanted it cleaned then. We told him no, please just send up some clean towels. The towels were delivered within 5 min with big apologies. No big deal, it was probably just an oversight. What bothered me was that friends of ours arrived Sat night around 9:30-10. They quickly checked in, got into their room, unpacked and got ready for bed. Well, they pulled back the covers to find a blood stain not only on the bottom sheet but it went straight through to the pad underneath. That can only mean the sheets were never changed from the last guest. Ewwww. That was just disgusting. No excuse. Ofcourse they were moved directly to a suite. They did complain to the Hampton Inn 800 # and got full refund. In general I'm usually pleased with the Hampton chain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My gal and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and were very pleased with the service and the facility. This is not our first time here, and while there had been adjacent construction, it never bothered us in the past, and is now complete. As with most Hampton Inns, the bed was A+ comfy, and the room (a king non-smoking) was large enough for the two of us but cozy enough for the two of us ;-) The free breakfast was exactly what we wanted - simple, easy, nothing heavy. If you prefer your cooked-to-order eggs, etc., this isn't the place for that.

We'll be back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I have stayed at this property several times and I look forward to all my future stays there.

The staff is very friendly and does everything to make you feel at home at this property.

Shuttle drivers are more then willing to take you the near outlet mall as well as other places in the area.

One time we stayed there for 1 night we arrived at 8am from a longhaul flight and were able to check in right away. Checked out late the next day. All this at no extra cost. I really love staying there and I'm back at the end of February looking forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed at Hampton Inn Leesburg after a day touring the local wineries. Upon checking in, we requested a suite, and we upgraded for free. The hotel had a lot of open rooms, making the upgrade possible. Everyone at the front desk was very friendly. The room was very nice with fridge and microwave. It was very quiet. The free breakfast in the morning was an added plus. Will defintely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I've stayed at the Leesburg Hampton many, many times. For me, it's the place to stay in Leesburg.The beds are very comfortable with down pillows (non-down also available), and the rooms are always spotless. The best featre is the staff who are always friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg

Address: 117 Fort Evans Road NE, Leesburg, VA 20176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Leesburg Hotel Leesburg
Hampton Inn Leesburg
Leesburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites Leesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.