We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good wine,great hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Creek Winery

Lost Creek Winery
43277 Spinks Ferry Road, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-443-9836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: He Vineyards & Winery at Lost Creek is a 50-acre boutique winery nestled in the rolling hills of Northern Virginia 10 minutes outside of historic Leesburg, Virginia. Tucked away between Route 15 and the Potomac River, Lost Creek Winery is a scenic destination that offers high-quality Virginia wines in a casual elegant atmosphere. Lost Creek's owners, Todd and Aimee Henkle, and consulting winemaker, Sebastien Marquet, are striving to show how great Virginia wines can be. A visit to our winery begins with a drive through our lower vineyard, past rows of thriving Chardonnay, Vidal Blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Merlot vines. The winery building consists of our 1,500 square foot tasting room, a private adult-only club member lounge, a tasting pavilion (open in warm weather and for special events), a lawn to enjoy picnicking, and a wisteria-covered arbor encircling our front patio fountain. Inside our tasting room features a cozy fireplace and several tasting bars. Our knowledgeable wine educators will guide you in tasting Lost Creek's featured wines or they can suggest a bottle or glass if you prefer to relax at a fireside table or under the shade on our patio. We offer live music every weekend as well as several fun and educational food and wine events throughout the year.
chantilli,va
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“good wine,great hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

We joined their wine club and have been very pleased with the wines. They are, as most Virginia wines, higher priced but very good and a nice selection of reds, whites and a nice rose. Our son's wedding is scheduled on June 6 at the Harvest House so we will have a follow-up review of the winery then.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Virginia Wines at their Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

If you are looking for wines at their finest on the hidden path, Lost Creek is the place to go. Lost Creeks prides themselves in producing wines using 100% Virginia grapes and ages in fine French oak. The Chardonnay is brilliant, juicy mouthful, low in acidity and high in taste. The Cab is rich, complex and soft tannins with a long but fruitful finish. If you like a little toast oaky, my friends saw it as just enough oak and light on the toast. If you prefer a Vidal Blanc the bright, sweet, fruity aromas have a perfect mineral balance to satisfy your pallet on a warm Virginia summer day. I guarantee you the wine selections will satisfy everyone in your tasting party. The location is off the beaten path, but well worth the trip to sit, taste and fall in love with wine. They have small food plates to offer or bring a snack and enjoy the outside patio.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very gracious welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

The staff made you feel good as you walked up to and through the doors. The two people that came with me wanted to try just two or three wines that we were targeting since we did not have time to do a full tasting. They served tastes of wine that we wanted and so customer focused that we decided to grab the meat a cheese combination (excellent - the fig spread excellent +++) along with a loaf of bread and of course a bottle of white (vidal blanc).

The atmosphere was great and the people that worked there - the same. Would make this a point to stop at while in Leesburg.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visited Lost Creek on a recent trip through Northern Virginia and we just loved it. The location is a little off the beaten path, however it is easy to find with the help of a map or GPS.

The location is very pretty with vine adorned patios outside and a warmly lit tasting room inside. Evan took us through our tasting and he was wonderful - his knowledge of the wine and committment to our experience was a high point of our trip (thanks Evan)!

The wine was great and we also recommend the truffles. Our only regret is this isn't closer to our home.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Such a lovely place to visit. Simply enjoyed the variety of wines. Evan was a delight, he really knew what he was talking about. The locale itself was warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Creek Winery also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Lost Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Creek Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.