We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very knowledgeable Staff, Okay Wine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Creek Winery

Lost Creek Winery
43277 Spinks Ferry Road, Leesburg, VA 20176
703-443-9836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 activities in Leesburg
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Lost Creek Winery is the place to begin when you are ready to explore the beauty of Virginia Wine Country. Our Tuscan style winery has a large tasting room with a fireplace and a spacious Vineyard Banquet room. If you want a great experience, come taste our outstanding wines and spend some time in our beautiful, inviting tasting room.Or buy a glass and relax on our Fountain patio.We feature live music on weekends for your enjoyment while you share a bottle of wine with friends. We are the kinder, gentler, friendlier winery. Pets and children are welcome at our winery (even in our tasting room). In addition to our patio,there is a nice large outdoor pavilion to sit at tables with your friends and have a picnic in the shade. We have WiFI and you may also feel free to bring your own picnic.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very knowledgeable Staff, Okay Wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I wanted to like this place, and a few wines were very good, but most were simply run of the mill. There reds are better than the whites. I wouldn't skip this Winery, but I wouldn't make a special trip just for this one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Beautiful Winery with Great Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A little off the beaten path but worth the trip. Plenty of parking, a good tasting staff, and excellent local wines. The whites were the best!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our third and final stop for the day, taking some friends from PA on a quick tasting of local wineries in London. Power was out after a bad storm the night before, but they were open for business and in great spirits. There was even a local band playing on the patio, keep in mind there was no power (except a generator to run a few things) and it was during a heat wave weekend for DC, 100 degrees. Our tasting server was friendly and very helpful. Even though were about to close, she said feel free to take your bottle and glasses outside and take your time. We grabbed our Vidal blanc and had a nice end of day drink under the veranda. Very nice, I can only imagine that it is nicer in the spring or fall when it is not too hot. Take advantage of all the local and close together vineyards in London county, and don't forget this one. Very nice. Oh, and good wine and fair prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great wedding site for under 100 people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Owners work well with all aspects of the wedding and their recommendations for catering, flowers, etc., turned out to be sensational! And the wine was excellent!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Lost Creek Winery Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Visited Lost Creek Winery this past weekend with wife & 2-year old daughter. Very pleasant and romantic atmosphere, many outside picnic & patio tables so we could have relaxing afternoon. Wine tasting was only $7 each (10-percent cheaper for us with Military discount - a big plus). Wine Server (I think Susan) was very cordial and accommodating; give us full explanations for each wine (verbatim from the written descriptions, but still very nice to hear it by gentle voice). 10-Wines served in casual timing, provided broad spectrum of good wine flavors (dry, sweet, wooden barrel, steel barrel, etc.), all of which are grown on-site (a big plus from other wineries that buy grapes and mix/sell). I liked the Chardonay and final one...named Harvest, I think (sweet) best. we could sit outside and view exceptionally large vineyard. Nice to see the grape vines growing. This was a very good experience. Unfortunately, their food refrigerators were on the fritz, so not much selection of cheeses & meats. I heard that mom-n-pop own/run this one; it is very much better than their son/daughter-run winery at the bottom of the hill named Hidden Brook, which previously gave us rude & poor service, and their rushed atmostphere by servers (all wine tasting done in 3-minutes with no explanations, then the Hidden Brook servers became very pushy to sell wines and treated us badly when we could not decide...we left quickly). I guess Mom-n-Pop run Lost Creek Winery understands customer service better, and thus hire better Wine Servers. We enjoyed it immensely.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Creek Winery also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Lost Creek Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Creek Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lost Creek Winery to your Saves list