We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT DOG!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windy City Red Hots

Windy City Red Hots
28 South King Street, Leesburg, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 182 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HOT DOG!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Chicago style hot dogs are done right here as well as their Italian beef sandwiches. Also try the Windy City weenie wagon on Bluemont near the nursery. Both are excellent. A huge thank you for bringing Vienna Beef dogs to Loudoun County!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Great Italian Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

After reading about Windy City Red Hots on TA, we decided to try it. Italian beef sandwiches are one of our favorites and I make them occasionally. We ordered the Italian beef with sweet peppers and provolone cheese to go. They packed the au jus on the side for us. We wrapped the sandwich in foil and reheated it in the oven that evening and it was moist and delicious, like it had just been made. This is a large sandwich, so we decided to split and it was enough for two of us. The staff is very friendly and you get service with a smile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best hot dogs in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Fast service and great food. I recommend this place to everyone in the Ashburn leesburg area. Easy on off access to hwy 7.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“When you want a good hot dog and fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Talked to the owner one night, and he is originally from Chicago and missed having a place to go for a Chicago hot dog, so he started Windy City Red Hots. They have bratwurst, sausage, hot dog, and other sandwich choices on the menu. We have come back repeatedly for the classic Chicago style hot dogs (which are excellent) and fries. Service has been consistently friendly. You can get bottled micro-brew beer to drink, as well as soft drinks. Small, very casual restaurant where you order at the counter, sit down, and they bring out your food. Customers often have their children there or are meeting with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little bit of Chicago in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you miss the typical Chicago Hot Dog/Italian Beef corner stand, this will make you homesick. Chicago style dogs, polish sausage, and Italian beef sandwiches. Even have tamales Chicago style! Loved it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy City Red Hots also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Windy City Red Hots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy City Red Hots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.