We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you want a good hot dog and fries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windy City Red Hots

Windy City Red Hots
28 South King Street, Leesburg, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 181 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“When you want a good hot dog and fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Talked to the owner one night, and he is originally from Chicago and missed having a place to go for a Chicago hot dog, so he started Windy City Red Hots. They have bratwurst, sausage, hot dog, and other sandwich choices on the menu. We have come back repeatedly for the classic Chicago style hot dogs (which are excellent) and fries. Service has been consistently friendly. You can get bottled micro-brew beer to drink, as well as soft drinks. Small, very casual restaurant where you order at the counter, sit down, and they bring out your food. Customers often have their children there or are meeting with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little bit of Chicago in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you miss the typical Chicago Hot Dog/Italian Beef corner stand, this will make you homesick. Chicago style dogs, polish sausage, and Italian beef sandwiches. Even have tamales Chicago style! Loved it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Pretty authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife was born and raised in Chicago. She loves Windy City and it is the closest thing she can get to authentic Chicago beef out in this area. The Ashburn location next to the nursery on Route 7 is close to our house and a nice place to stop by when we are out running errands. The Beef, pizza puffs, and hot dogs are all excellent and you cant go wrong with anything on the menu. We are frequent eaters here and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“My son's favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This little niche shop focuses on hot dogs (and a few other offerings) and they do it well. There is a decent selection of beers available as well as sodas. They even offer vegan and vegetarian dogs in case members of your party are of that persuasion. Service has always been friendly, fast, and efficient. If you miss Chicago or if you want a fast delicious hot dog, you will find what you need here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hot Diggity!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Love this place! Having cabin fever and in need of a change of scenery, we took a drive to Leesburg. Not too familiar with the town, we knew we would have lunch. When we saw this cute little place and the novel idea of an authentic Chicago Red Hot, it was too good to pass up. This is a low key yet tastefuly done shop. The dogs are fantastic and priced just right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windy City Red Hots also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Windy City Red Hots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy City Red Hots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.