We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good -- not great -- Mexican food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anita's New Mexico Style Mexican

Anita's New Mexico Style Mexican
5 Fort Evans Rd NE, Leesburg, VA 20176
(571) 209-5092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good -- not great -- Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I enjoyed the lightly battered chile relleno. The cheese enchilada was ok, but they used a mixture of cheeses which included cheddar. Cheddar cheese does NOT belong in authentic Mexican cuisine. I often experience this and am alway disappointed when I do. Certainly not bad tasting, just not traditional. The service was impersonal. They asked the obligatory questions only. That said, if you're craving Mexican food, out of the 3 that I've tried in Leesburg, it's the best.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quick Take Out when you are in a hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stopped by for carry out around 1:30 pm on a Monday and was pleasantly surprised how fast they were. The restaurant was not busy at this time but I still received prompt friendly service when I entered the restaurant and at the takeout window They have a wide variety of menu options including breakfast. Today I ordered lunch enchilada special with an order of chips and queso. The food was freshly prepared and authentic Mexican but w/an American flare. I'm having a hard time finding a restaurant that tops my all time favorite mexican restaurant that closed a couple of years ago. I do stop by Anitas in Vienna, Herndon and Leesburg a couple times a year knowing the food is always fresh and prepared to order.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a good Anitas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have really enjoyed eating at most Anitas. The other ones have more of everything atmosphere, food quality, service etc....This one need an overhaul and new management.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of several Anitas resturants in the Virginia area.
its a good and resonable place to eat.
they offer daily specials and they offer free
refils of drinks.
it a good clean place to eat and not break the bank

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Too many Anitas?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Been going to different anitas for years, and come to this one about once every 6 months lately. And that may be too often. I think i may be done now. Anitas of the 80s and 90s was something special. Now it seems most meals taste the same. Nothing great. And paying too much for average food. I kept going back over the past 4-5 years hoping it would be better. The best thing may be the strawberry margarita. Just went tonight with two of my kids, and i think this was it for me. I am just not gonna pay $40 for dinner for three that is average at best. Too bad. I miss the old days.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anita's New Mexico Style Mexican also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Anita's New Mexico Style Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anita's New Mexico Style Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.