We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went back for the Maple Salmon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ironwood Tavern - CLOSED

Ironwood Tavern
962 Edwards Ferry Rd NE, Leesburg, VA 20176
7037776333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 15
Description: The art of cooking with wood enhances the Ironwood Tavern"s experience with bold flavors simply not found with alternative cooking methods. Executive Chef Luis incorporates the seasonal offerings such as beef, pork, poultry, seafood and fresh produce from small local farms and purveyors for our cuisine. Craft beer is our focus and our passion. All of our 24 craft beers on draft reflect a personal vision. Our craft beer list is different, intriguing, and constantly evolving, like the world of craft beer itself. A menu that features styles from all over the world, but is predominantly American and local in focus. Our craft beer experts works with chef Luis to develop the menus, and that the pair sometimes start with the beer and work backwards to the food from there.
Brunswick, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Went back for the Maple Salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went with business associates and had the maple salmon. Outstanding food, service and ambiance. Next trip we will try and return. The servers were prompt, the meals my friends have tried were all reported good. The place was quite to a conversation level, not like a sports bar where you can't hear your friend's conversation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent meal for a decent price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A group of three of us came here one night not long after they opened. It was pretty empty and the service was very good, but again, empty. We all got something different and all liked our dinners. I was surprised to hear others say it was overpriced; I think the prices are very reasonable for Loudoun County. We paid under $75 for dinner and drinks for three. I wasn't blown away by it, but it was good. We'll come back with others at some point, but aren't in a rush to get back here. I can see this being a good atmosphere for happy hour, but it is kind of dark inside for a summertime hangout.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Prime Ribs !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were there last weekend for dinner from Leesburg shopping mall. It is very close to shopping mall. We ordered prime rib dinner specials and really enjoyed the dish.
Service is very attentive. They also have large selection of craft beers. We will try next time if we get opportunity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It'll do...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Maybe this place is good for Happy Hour... but I went with my family for dinner. First of all, the place was DEAD. My group and maybe two other groups occupied the entire restaurant. It was awkwardly quiet. The tables for large parties are ALL high top tables, which makes it hard for grandparents. The food was your typical All-American food... but not the best All-American food I've ever had. It's just... so-so. And it is kind of pricey for the quality you get when it's not on HH special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good place for craft beer and Hickory grilled food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were there for Friday dinner, we enjoyed hickory grilled sword fish pasta (pasta). Also liked new craft beer (Cherry Blossom Lager beer).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironwood Tavern also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironwood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.