We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of leesburg, 2nd visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ironwood Tavern - CLOSED

Ironwood Tavern
962 Edwards Ferry Rd NE, Leesburg, VA 20176
7037776333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 15
Description: The art of cooking with wood enhances the Ironwood Tavern"s experience with bold flavors simply not found with alternative cooking methods. Executive Chef Luis incorporates the seasonal offerings such as beef, pork, poultry, seafood and fresh produce from small local farms and purveyors for our cuisine. Craft beer is our focus and our passion. All of our 24 craft beers on draft reflect a personal vision. Our craft beer list is different, intriguing, and constantly evolving, like the world of craft beer itself. A menu that features styles from all over the world, but is predominantly American and local in focus. Our craft beer experts works with chef Luis to develop the menus, and that the pair sometimes start with the beer and work backwards to the food from there.
virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gem of leesburg, 2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wow, had the ribeye as the sauce intrigued me, Myers rum and mustard, fantastic along with their smoky grilled asparagus , wife had filet, mushroom sauce. Wow, flavors unbelievable. 18 for ribeye, 20 for filet. A must try if your in leesburg.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just so so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were excited to find a new place to go but were disappointed with the food. They are trying really hard and provided friendly service. The beer selection was great. We had main entres as opposed to more bar type food which may have been a mistake. My husand did not like the crab cakes at all and the maple salmon was salty and not all that good. The baked potato was not hot when it came out either.

I would go there again, but only for the beer and some bar food and give it a second try. I am not sure what the place was before, but i felt like we were sitting in a Denny's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“2 out of 2 and excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Clean, great menu, priced moderately and a great assortment of beers. We dined here two days in a row, bringing guests both times...everyone was happy. Will come back again when we are in Leesburg.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a second trip ... I think”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our kids ate free with a coupon, so we decided to give it a try. Service was ok -- not terrific. The good: the spring roll appetizers were delicious, and the salmon on our kids' meals was very nice -- we wanted to trade meals with them! Their broccoli came in big steamed hunks that had to be cut for them - eh, fine. The not-so-good: A weird brown sauce ruined the flat iron steak -- I wasn't expecting a sauce and it was strangely sweet, like something from a powdered sauce package. The worst: the mashed potatoes, which were on all our plates, were awful and detracted from the meal - they need to throw out their recipe and get a new one. All in all, $65 for dinner for 4 including 2 free kids meals -- we might give them another try to see if it's better next time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hardly recognized the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Well they did a great job transforming the atmosphere from the previous identities. Menu had a great selection, but def an emphasis on beef. Even though, i still had plenty of options as a vegetarian. The service was outstanding. I had half a meal to take home for tomorrow's lunch. We will be back. As locals, we always welcome something other than the same old chain restaurants. I sure hope this plays stays. Note: we had lunch there, and supposedly the portions are smaller... Yikes. They were plenty large enough.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironwood Tavern also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironwood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;