We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
Village at Leesburg, 1607 Village Market Blvd., Leesburg, VA
+1 703-840-0443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Firebirds is a collection of polished casual restaurants offering a refined atmosphere, top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. We are known for our authentic, wood-fired entrees infused with bold flavors, fresh herbs & spices. Our restaurants feature a selection of aged steaks hand-cut in the restaurant, fresh seafood, chicken & ribs seared over local hickory, oak or pecan wood.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to this restaurant for dinner with a friend. Things started out badly when the onion rings were served cold. This is one of the major reasons we came as our friends said they were the best onion rings around! Waitress (Camelia) was very efficient with drinks, refills, etc and was most pleasant. However, food served was not up to parr. The steak salad had steak in a clump rather than sliced as menu indicated. My filet kabobs were terrible. The meat was okay but the vegetables were raw as if they never saw the grill. When asked if we could split dessert we were told that they did not split desserts only entrees. What does it take to put half a dessert each on a plate? Decided to cancel dessert. Manager never came by to see how things were even when we sent back steak salad so meat could be cut. This place needs new management!! Last time we will go here, Stay away unless you want heartburn, not only from the food, but from the entire experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food - over inflated wine price - for the portion size you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a family favorite - we eat here a lot. The food is generally very well prepared, seasoned and presented and the staff is always very accommodating. The only issue I have is to agree with a previous writer. I ordered a $10 glass of wine and the glass was less than half full - and it was a small wine glass. I know wine very well and for the price I paid for that particular wine, if they had brought it out in a mug sized glass it would have perhaps made up for the over-inflated price. I felt this in the past several times but this time it kind of peeved me given how much we spend here. I may decide we need a new place for family dinners out. This is the reason this place gets 3 stars from me and not 4.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our first visit to the Firebirds Wood Fired Grill. It was so good we went again the second night. Outstanding food!! Everything was awesome!! The chicken wings were out of this world. The coconut shrimp, potatoes, and steaks were wonderful. I would eat there again in a heart beat. Thinking about taking my mom back for her birthday. Also, the restaurant is so big there was little wait time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Food. Issue with drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have eaten lunch here on several occasions, and the food is always very good. The sweet potato fries are great! My only real issue with this place, is when you order a drink (wine or mixed) you only get 1/2 glass. We have commented on this several times and for the price they charge, they really need to give you the appropriate amount. It is the only restaurant we dine in, in the Leesburg area, that does this. So now, when we eat there, we stick to iced-tea!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebirdsgrill, Guest Relations Manager at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
EandDsmom,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Firebirds on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to hear that you enjoy our food but am sorry to hear about the drink situation. Your feedback is invaluable to us so I would love to have someone reach out to you.

Would you please respond with your contact information?

Thank you,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and economical lunch specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Just happened to walk by this place. Glad we did. My wife and I chose off of the $7.95 lunch specials. The cheeseburger and the blue cheese sirloin were both very good and the portions were just right for $7.95. The restaurant has a nice bar and open kitchen concept where you can view the open fire. The bathrooms were very clean. Check this place out - especially for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.