We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, Mexican Food That's Flavorful and Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tios Grill

Los Tios Grill
201 Harrison St, Leesburg, VA
(571) 291-3652
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Northern Virginnie
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Finally, Mexican Food That's Flavorful and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the second time that my husband and I have dined at Los Tios Grill in Leesburg. Although they have a patio, we chose to sit indoors. It was a hot evening and all the bodies in the dining room put a drain on the air conditioning. The restaurant was busy but that did not affect service. Their waiters are attentive, personable, and prompt.
Drinks are delicious - their small would be a large anywhere else. Dinner is made fresh and to order. Because of that you will have a few more minutes' wait, but it is so worth it! I ordered the steak and shrimp fajitas and my husband the chicken chimichanga. My steak was tender and delicious, the shrimp were not overcooked. The chimichanga was delicious - flavorful and seemed baked and the best we have tasted, in any area! And, if you ask for a side of FRESH jalapenos, you get actual fresh sliced peppers, not the jarred, pickled ones I have received in almost every other "Mexican" restaurant in the area. After dinner, we had coffee and split a fried ice cream - a pefect end to a delicious dinner!
Good, fresh food prepared well - we will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A fun Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We went here after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. The margaritas were great. The salsa was fresh and the chips light and crispy. We had one of their shrimp dishes and the ingredients were extra fresh. It definitely is worth a stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I lived in Texas for 19 years and have yet to find good Mexican food here in Virginia. We were in Leesburg riding bikes and decided to try Los Tios. It was great. Some outside tables. Fast service (it was 2:00 p.m. on Saturday). Homemade salsa with big chunks of tomato and pieces cilantro. Chips were thin and fresh. We split a chicken burrito with the red sauce. Delicious! Rice was good too. Had the small (haha) margaratia. Yes it was $7.00 but it was big and tasted great. Will definately go again when I am in the area or have a Mexican food craving. They did have a brunch menu on Saturday and Sunday until 2.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've eaten here countless times and we've always enjoyed it. The food is simple but fresh. The margaritas are good as well. We usually get the Huevos Rancheros and although it's a no-frills dish, it's always good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend of mine took me here for a belated birthday dinner. Los Tios is located in the Market Square in Leesburg, same shopping complex as the Tuscarora restaurant. The restaurant is small but cozy. We started off with the largest margaritas I have ever seen. I felt like I was drinking literally out of a fish bowl but of course was much tastier. They brought out a basket of chips with salsa. The chips are thin and very crispy. The salsa was a little liquidy but very tasty. My friend ordered mahi mahi fish tacos which she claimed were delicious. I ordered the beef fajitas. They were delicious! The meat was tender and spiced perfectly. They are cooked up with the standard onions and peppers. They garnish them with a nice handful of cilantro, which I love. Of course if you are not a fan make sure to have them leave it out. I noticed that there is outside seating which might be nice in the warmer weather. The only thing about the smallness of the restaurant that bothered me was that everyone was ordering fajitas and I didn't feel that the ventilation was very good. I was breathing in the smokiness of others fajita orders. I would definitely come back to Los Tios in spite of this though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tios Grill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Los Tios Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tios Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.