We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good margaritas, good food, not great on dessert.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tios Grill

Los Tios Grill
201 Harrison St, Leesburg, VA
(571) 291-3652
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 161 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good margaritas, good food, not great on dessert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been to this restaurant about 3 times. Right when they sit you they give you warm chips and salsa.The service of this place is very good, the waiters are always attentive. I feel like the menu could have more options, they have mexican dishes, but I don't feel there is a lot of variation. Their margaritas are excellent, they sell small ones and big ones, we had the mango margarita and were not disappointed. The food portions are a little small, but the overall taste of the food is not bad. My only disappointment was the dessert, we order fried scream which we didn't know was covered in honey and it was awfully sweet! We asked our waiter to please change it because we did not know it was covered in honey, and he did. We got another dessert with ice cream, it was better but it was not a wow dessert. Overall, is a good place to eat, the restaurant is very small, but they have great service. Good place to have a margarita and some tacos. I do not recommend any dessert from here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Sangria margarita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

An enjoyable lunch. Service was good, food was above average and decent prices. Enjoyed the sangria margarita, one of the best I have had in a long time. The only issue was that you looked out onto a courtyard that was for outside dining in the summer. It had a trash bin and lid tossed there which made the view unnecessarily trashy looking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“National Margarita Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stopped at Los tios for dinner on National Margarita Day. We were seated in about 10 minutes upon arrival,which was fine for a Friday evening out. We were given warm chips and fresh salsa, which were very good. We ordered 2 regular margaritas and a lemonade for our daughter. I ordered the fish tacos with Mahi mahi, my husband had beef, chicken, and cheese enchiladas, and our daughter had Dinosaur chicken nuggets and fries.
We were disappointed with the margaritas, they were quite "green" and sour, tasted like cheap mix from the grocery store. The dinosaur chicken nuggets were over-cooked, our daughter wouldn't eat them (and her chicken nugget pallet is refined- haha). My tacos were good, two with plenty of fish and fresh ingredients, I enjoyed them. My husband seemed happy with his meal.
When the waiter came at the end to take our plates, he asked how everything was and we told him that the chicken nuggets were burnt and she wouldn't eat them. So, he offered to take them off the bill, we said that wasn't necessary, but appreciated him acknowledging the problem. So, instead he brought us out a free dessert - flan- which was delicious.
So, hmmm... This place has a good vibe, the crowd and staff are lively, the food is average for the Mexican places around our area and the margaritas were sub-par compared to places like Mexican Cafe in annapolis, or Uncle Julio's in Reston. But, we did very much appreciate the good will gesture of the dessert. For that and the good service, I would definitely recommend.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Positively Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place tonight based on reviews on TripAdviser and was not disappointed! It was delicious and the service was especially good. My husband loves to let the server choose his or her favorite meal on the menu whenever we go somewhere new. The waiter's recommendation was Pollo Acapulco, and my husband said it was fantastic. My daughter and I both had fajitas, which were really good. Note: if you don't like cilantro, ask them to hold it, because they smothered the fajita meat with cilantro. The fajita beef was seasoned perfectly and very high quality beef. The fajita chicken was a little bland but still good. All in all, a fabulous find, and we will definitely be back the next time we are in Leesburg.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great little mexican restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I love this place and drive 15m to eat here about once a month. Food is well seasoned and nice portion sizes. Excellent enchiladas and tamal's, and some fine shrimp dishes. Margarita's are a bargain, we hope they add one with true fresh lime juice, even if it costs a little more. We also like this spot because it is very small and intimate, with strong attention to service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tios Grill also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Los Tios Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tios Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.