We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food in Bentonville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travinia Italian Kitchen

Travinia Italian Kitchen
1605 Village Market Blvd SE, Ste 104, Leesburg, VA 20175-4688
+1 703-777-6511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Handmade Contemporary American Italian Cuisine. Fresh chicken, seafood, pasta, pizza, steaks, veal and desserts. Full service catering, private dining. Extensive wine list and gluten free menu. Open for lunch and dinner.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Italian food in Bentonville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Finally a good place to go for Italian food. The service is attentive without being annoying. Great food. Good ambiance. It shows they care that you enjoyed your meal and your experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another delicious lunch at Travinia in Leesburg! This place is predictably great. From the moment you walk in, you know you are in a friendly place. Although the music was very loud, when asked, they turned the volume down. There were five of us and each of us ordered something different. I always get a pasta (this time lasagna) True to form, all of our meals were served hot and were cooked to perfection. (Some of the things ordered were crab cakes, chicken marsala, veal ravioli, pasta bolognese, and my lasagna). Service was efficient and friendly. Even though Travinia is a chain, it never seems like it. It is a cross between a family friendly restaurant and a fine Italian restaurant. You will NEVER be disappointed. Hats off to the management in Leesburg, the wait staff, and the chefs!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've never been to Italy, but we've traveled around. We can tell the difference between destinations that are simply "places to eat", and those that offer "a dining experience". We enjoy tasty and innovative food done well, accompanied by good (sometimes great) service, with good bar offerings. Travinia has delivered every time.

Last night for example, we grazed over a luxuriously simple opening salad of lightly dressed arugula, very interestingly served with long strips of lean, lightly crisped proscuitto de Parma and beautifully "walled in" with wafer-thin "slabs" of parmesan reggiano. Great salad presentation!

Their square of delicious hot bread came fresh out of the oven, and our server poured a dipping plate of deeply green, intensely fruity olive oil. Very, very good.

For entrees, my Husband enjoyed their special of four 2oz lamb rib chops (trimmed, and the long bones were Frenched) done in a luscious marsala demi-glace with cremini mushrooms, sprinkled with fontina and scallions. Since he isn't a big onion fan, he requested his without scallions - and it came that way. Garlic mashed on the side.

I was not as hungry, so ordered from the "small plates" menu, and the sides offerings. This is one of my favorite things about this particular restaurant. Many of their main entrees are also available as "small plates" (my thinking, almost tapas style). Between the small plates, the generous and affordable "side dishes", and the bounty of soups, salads, and appetizers, anyone should be able to find any combination to suit their fancy.
So I ordered their "small plate" single crabcake, which is served with a large scoop of their oven-roasted tomato, spinach, and pine-nut orzo. I also ordered from their "side dishes" of the mixed grilled vegetables. Last night, as most every time I've ordered, this has been a base of yellow squash and zucchini batons...last night there were also carrots - all tossed in a little garlic butter then grilled on their hickory wood grill - delicious!!!

We did not go during prime dinner time on a busy night - we were later, on a Thursday. Our server was prompt, obviously very busy, yet took the time to be friendly and as chatty & personable as we wanted to be. She kept tabs on our progress with drinks and salad without being intrusive, and matched the entree service to our slower paced progress beautifully.

We've been going here occasionally for two years. The food is simply terrific, and the atmosphere is warm and vibrant, classy-trendy, and clean. While we've had one rare faux-pas, it was quickly rectified. It's nice enough for celebratory dining, but casual enough for a weeknight dinner. We've seen large groups (take care if you are visiting during prom season!!). We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So Happy We Tried!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband, daughter and I went here for my birthday dinner. Our daughter had been previously and really enjoyed it. We were going to sit at the bar for just a drink then head to the dining room for dinner. However, Rebecca and Eric behind the bar were so nice and so attentive that we decided to stay sat there. We were near the outside patio and there was a lovely breeze, so we had perfect seats. Eric did some special drinks (per our daughter's requests) that she loved. When we decided to order food, we were most happy that they also have Gluten-Free pasta, and are going to soon have freshly-baked Gluten-Free breads. When she took our orders, Rebecca was VERY attentive and made sure that everything was perfect as daughter has both gluten and dairy sensitivities, and I have some dietary issues that need to be addressed. Quincy, the Manager also came over to check on our needs so the food was done perfectly. He also presented me with a Birthday Champagne! Thanks Quincy!! Our food was really delicious and we ate more than we normally do, but couldn't seem to stop. This is now one of our favorite restaurants in the Leesburg area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just wanted to share our experience at this restaurant. We were on holidays with another couple and upon the advice of our hotel, we traveled to this place for supper. The food was fine but the service was the worst we have ever had. We travel three to four times a year and this was unacceptable. We had to wait for about half an hour for service then another half an hour for our drinks (only three showed up). The other one only showed up when we went to the manager. The meal was exactly the same. I am not just a complainer as when I am done here I am going to complement anther place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travinia Italian Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Travinia Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travinia Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.