We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did have a light lunch, but it was so tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lou Bistro

La Lou Bistro
19 W Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-771-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Virginia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“We did have a light lunch, but it was so tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We ordered the side pita bread with olive tapenade and it was fabulous.
The owner was friendly and our server as ell, our wine, and salad that we split was really really good.
We especially liked the piece of garlic/ Cheese slice of bread on the side.
The atmosphere was calm and cozy. I want to visit again so I can eat a big entree for dinner..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great bouillabaisse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend and I were looking for place to have lunch on a rainy Sunday and were reading the menu on the window when the owner came out and invited us to come in. He assured us that we would love the bouillabaisse. We came back about 45 minutes later after shopping and unfortunately the owner was gone. However, his sous chef/waiter was very nice and brought us a really fantastic lunch. We were a bit concerned that we were the only people in the restaurant and there was only one person working. However, the bouillabaisse was indeed terrific and the warm flatbread that came out with a homemade tapenade was equally delicious. The bistro salad, baklava, and coffee were also excellent. The prices were very reasonable. We paid $60 between the two of us and that included a dessert and coffee. This place is a very nice find.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recommended, highly recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

3 sisters for birthday lunch! Delicious, liked all the exotic choices. Moroccan, French....
Squid, tender, hot delicious . Gazpacho, very flavor filled
Moroccan chicken pillow, another salad niciose w fresh tuna another tomato basil mozzarella w capers and avocado
NO ROOM FOR DESSERT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Walking around Leesburg, looking for somewhere to eat. Owner of La Lou saw us reading menu posted on window and came outside to invite us in. Glad we did! Everything he recommended was delicious! Menu was extensive and varied--surprising for so small a place! Good wine list and great after dinner coffee. If lived in Leesburg, this would be our go-to place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Check Who Is Playing At The Tally Ho Theater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Like other reviewers, the owner/chef enticed us into the restaurant by highlighting various items on the menu. Unfortunately, a tribute to Lynard Skinard was playing next door and soon sounded like it was in the restaurant... very loud. The food was okay but I thought overpriced ($30 for four lobster ravioli.) I doubt I will ever visit again as there are better options in Leesburg.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lou Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to La Lou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lou Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.