We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lou Bistro

La Lou Bistro
19 W Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-771-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 160 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Inman, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Walking around Leesburg, looking for somewhere to eat. Owner of La Lou saw us reading menu posted on window and came outside to invite us in. Glad we did! Everything he recommended was delicious! Menu was extensive and varied--surprising for so small a place! Good wine list and great after dinner coffee. If lived in Leesburg, this would be our go-to place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    18
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Check Who Is Playing At The Tally Ho Theater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Like other reviewers, the owner/chef enticed us into the restaurant by highlighting various items on the menu. Unfortunately, a tribute to Lynard Skinard was playing next door and soon sounded like it was in the restaurant... very loud. The food was okay but I thought overpriced ($30 for four lobster ravioli.) I doubt I will ever visit again as there are better options in Leesburg.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“European Flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Recently stumbled upon the La Lou Bistro. It was the middle of the week and we were taking the scenic route to the outlets. Walking the streets of Leesburg the bistro was present and the menu was enticing. We entered and were the only people there which was of concern but the owner met us, went over the specials and wine list in great detail and let us have a leisurely lunch. The menu is a mix of European and Mediterranean food and was quite extensive. The atmosphere felt like a Parisian bistro. The lobster ravioli was excellent and everything was first class. We can't wait to go back to have a nice dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Gem of Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is such a cute place with excellent food and service. The menu is filled with delicious Mediterranean food. It is a small, family run restaurant and the owner ensures you enjoy your meal and leave happy. I have had the chicken tangine and Merguez kebab and both dishes were authentic and delicious. Definitely make a point to stop in the next time you are in the historic area of Leesburg - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my type of restaurant: small, charming, clean, comfortable, and welcoming. So welcoming, in fact, that the owner greets you at the door and brings you to your table.

We went on a Monday night (thrilled to even find a restaurant open) and had the place to ourselves. The owner was attentive but not overly so. We ordered from the speciality board, which the owner reviewed with us, and no one was disappointed with their choices. The escargot was perfectly prepared, and the paella was perfect and brimming with seafood. The mushroom pizza (made for our youngest) was expertly made and larger than she could eat in three sittings. The chicken with prunes was tender and the beef tagine was very tasty. There were some frozen/steamed vegetables in with fresh, but they were prepared well enough.

The only issue I would want to make sure I share is that the prices at La Lou are not cheap. Expect to pay in the $30 - $35 range for a main entree.

We brought our children (8 and 12), but they enjoy this type of food and environment. With its fireplace, narrow spaces, tablecloths and candles, and fragile decor items, I do not necessarily recommend this restaurant for toddlers or little ones in the squirmy stages.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lou Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to La Lou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lou Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.