We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lou Bistro

La Lou Bistro
19 W Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-771-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 178 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Gem of Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is such a cute place with excellent food and service. The menu is filled with delicious Mediterranean food. It is a small, family run restaurant and the owner ensures you enjoy your meal and leave happy. I have had the chicken tangine and Merguez kebab and both dishes were authentic and delicious. Definitely make a point to stop in the next time you are in the historic area of Leesburg - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my type of restaurant: small, charming, clean, comfortable, and welcoming. So welcoming, in fact, that the owner greets you at the door and brings you to your table.

We went on a Monday night (thrilled to even find a restaurant open) and had the place to ourselves. The owner was attentive but not overly so. We ordered from the speciality board, which the owner reviewed with us, and no one was disappointed with their choices. The escargot was perfectly prepared, and the paella was perfect and brimming with seafood. The mushroom pizza (made for our youngest) was expertly made and larger than she could eat in three sittings. The chicken with prunes was tender and the beef tagine was very tasty. There were some frozen/steamed vegetables in with fresh, but they were prepared well enough.

The only issue I would want to make sure I share is that the prices at La Lou are not cheap. Expect to pay in the $30 - $35 range for a main entree.

We brought our children (8 and 12), but they enjoy this type of food and environment. With its fireplace, narrow spaces, tablecloths and candles, and fragile decor items, I do not necessarily recommend this restaurant for toddlers or little ones in the squirmy stages.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming Find in Leesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last night our family of six adults had dinner at La Lou! Our children have eaten here often, but this was our first visit. I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff and service! Our meals were outstanding...lamb shanks, steaks, and lobster ravioli, as well as the appetizers, and desserts. The wine list is average and twice retail...typical for a restaurant. We will return soon for the wonderful food, atmosphere, and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you like Miami/Spanish flavors you will love La Lou Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've had several meals at La Lou Bistro and every time it is an adventure in eating well. Flavors or Spain and perhaps Miami blend to transport me to those wonderful places. Go and you will be in love with the meals and perfect wines to match the menu. Family owned and run. Ask questions about the menu and listen as the chef tells you why this will be a beautiful experience for your palate. On a cold night ask to be next to the cozy fireplace. Brilliant, satisfying dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I really like this place. The owners are always there and the paella is awesome! I also love the service there and it always smells so great in there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lou Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to La Lou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lou Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.