We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Find in Leesburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lou Bistro - CLOSED

La Lou Bistro
19 W Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
17034749611
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming Find in Leesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last night our family of six adults had dinner at La Lou! Our children have eaten here often, but this was our first visit. I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff and service! Our meals were outstanding...lamb shanks, steaks, and lobster ravioli, as well as the appetizers, and desserts. The wine list is average and twice retail...typical for a restaurant. We will return soon for the wonderful food, atmosphere, and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jody_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hamilton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“If you like Miami/Spanish flavors you will love La Lou Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've had several meals at La Lou Bistro and every time it is an adventure in eating well. Flavors or Spain and perhaps Miami blend to transport me to those wonderful places. Go and you will be in love with the meals and perfect wines to match the menu. Family owned and run. Ask questions about the menu and listen as the chef tells you why this will be a beautiful experience for your palate. On a cold night ask to be next to the cozy fireplace. Brilliant, satisfying dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjbshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I really like this place. The owners are always there and the paella is awesome! I also love the service there and it always smells so great in there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing Second Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our food and service was fabulous on our first visit. I loved it so much I brought a friend to the restaurant as repayment for a favor. It was the regular chef's night out and yet the $34.00 dish of paella was still listed as the house special. Big mistake. It was so over-cooked. The rice was mushy and the fish was tough. When I told our waiter that the dish was over-done he just shrugged and said that it was his dad's night off (his dad is the chef). He made no attempt to compensate me. I know that my friend won't return and I will only go back when the "real" chef is in the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had our first dinner here last evening, based in large part on the TA ratings. What a great place! Our waiter (whom I'm certain is also an owner) was charming, and very obviously is quite proud of his restaurant. We stuck with the specials board, since he was so enthusiastic in promoting them. Moroccan wedding soup to start, delicious. Seafood spring rolls as an appetizer, wonderful. Dinner was the Moroccan steak for me (very fresh ingredients, delightfully seasoned) and tuna kabob for my wife. Both dishes were incredibly tasty, with generous portions. For dessert we just let him bring what he thought would be good, and he did well with slices of cake and espresso coffee. Interesting and unique menu, fun decor, and charming waitstaff. Non inexpensive, but good things usually aren't.

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lou Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing