We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended boutique restaurant in Downtown Leesburg, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Lou Bistro

La Lou Bistro
19 W Market St, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-771-0072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 181 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended boutique restaurant in Downtown Leesburg, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had dinner at La Lou while on a business trip. I was extremely impressed by the wait staff. They were friendly and they knew the menu inside out. The food was very tasty. You can tell that they use fresh ingredients. It was the perfect blend of Mediterranean and American. The prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was great. I would definitely eat there again when I am in Leesburg.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    16
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise in Downtown Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

A very nice finish to a day of wine-tasting in the surrounding area. La Lou's Mediterranean menu ranges from kebabs to paella and includes a little bit of everything in-between. The house salad and the Caesar were both excellent but the gazpacho was actually earth-shattering. My wife's lamb kebab was perfect but my grilled-flounder entree was a bit off. The fish was topped with crab but had no texture. I couldn't tell where the soft crab left off and the firm fish began because the fish wasn't firm. Tasty, but not executed as well as it should have been. Also, there were no Virginia wines on the wine list. There are dozens of wineries within a few miles of downtown Leesburg and I'm sure many people land at La Lou Bistro after spending a day at them, like we did. Why an upscale restaurant in the middle of wine country would not want to support the local wineries is beyond me. Still, La Lou Bistro was a good experience overall. I'd go back just for the gazpacho. I almost had it for dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herndon, virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cozy, Charming, Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

From start to finish every point was very nice. Excellent service, intimate atmosphere, good wine, and ah, the food...

Perfect for a memorable meal with a close friend; to get lost and forget about life for awhile.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ho-hum for La Lou”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was my first visit to La Lou, although it had been on my "Places to Eat" list for quite a while. I joined a friend for lunch and sampled a salad, which was good, but not outstanding for the price. The service was underwhelming. When I first arrived, I was unsure as to whether I should wait by the door to be seated, or go to the counter and ask. (I had made reservations ahead of time.) I ended up standing awkwardly for several moments, ignored by the staff. (And there were only 2 other groups dining!)

Then, after I was seated, and my friend arrived, the waiter came to go through our lunch options. And he never made eye contact with me. Not even once. It was bizarre.

While the decor is cute and the food decent, I'm not inclined to return, despite its convenient downtown location.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, PA
2 reviews
“Nice Decor, but Creepy Waiter/Owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We visited the La Lou Bistro this past week. The food was okay, but do not feel worth the price. Clean. Nice Decor. We had been looking at the menu outside when a staff member came out trying to usher us in. While we appreciate his dedication to improving his business, it was somewhat odd. Then once inside he went over the menu with us again odd (actually the best word used to describe it would be creepy). Service was prompt.I would not return.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lou Bistro also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to La Lou Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Lou Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.