We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Zydeco for your tastebuds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va

The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va
14 Loudoun St., Leesburg, VA
703-777-6580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Northern Virginia, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Delicious! Zydeco for your tastebuds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had an awesome (and surprising) lunch at The Cajun Experience in old town Leesburg, VA this weekend. Every drop of Cajun blood I may have wanted to do a little Fais do-do dance as we tried a little crawfish etouffee, the shrimp maque choux, and the jambalaya. The fried oysters were perfect - traditional Cajun prep but with delicious fresh Virginia sweet bluepoint oysters. My better half's lunch came with two beignets and we can easily say these beignets were the second best we've ever had --- only behind Café du Monde in New Orleans.

The food was well-prepared and our server Andrew was personable and friendly. As other reviewers have noted, the restaurant is in an old house which just adds to the character. We had so much food that we ended up taking half of it home and the leftovers were delicious too!

We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KCMO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food in a grimy spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food was wonderful. The cleanliness of the front room in this old house needs attention. Window sills, etc need cleaning. The restroom was a his/hers and needed attention as well.
The poorboy sandwich (catfish) was delicious. The wait staff was attentive and helpful. I would definitely give this restaurant in Leesburg a try, but the owner needs to give more attention to the cleaning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LA natives love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Been here with several friends and family members--many of which were formally LA locals. The food is excellent and authentic.

Yes, it's a bit on the pricey side, but you get nice size portions. Their poyboy lunch special is a pretty good deal if you live/work in the Leesburg area (I believe its a sandwich, Cajun chips and beignets for under $10 on the weekdays).

I love the shrimp poyboys here, but I have also had the crawfish pie which was fantastic. I HIGHLY recommend the boudin balls as an appetizer (sausage, rice and spices fried into balls), really tasty! Great desserts, too--beignets are smaller than the ones in the french quarter, but taste just as good! It's one of those places that you can always count on for Cajun staples, the menu doesn't change much (if at all) seasonally.

They have a really nice patio with covered tables--been there a few times when they have had live jazz music. Inside the restaurant is pretty small, try and make reservations on a Friday/weekend night. Nearest parking is on the street or in the free garage less than a block away.

Lots of fun--great place to eat and hang out. Did I mention they have Abita beer--even the seasonal ones! Awesome place for those looking for a taste of home--or looking to try something new.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place for Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Not cheap for families with grown kids (family of 4 adults with 3 beers, 2 desserts, and 4 entrees cost ~80-100) but very good food and ambient. One evening as I was walking by they had a piano playing outside and a couple other times some jazz music. Crawfish etuffae, chocolate ben-yays (sorry for spelling, Creole is not my cup of tea), beer, all very tasty. If you're there make sure to ask if there is anything else that's not on the menu, occasionally they will have something not yet listed (like Oysters, which have now been added to the menu). Probably a good place to take a date for dinner. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun place in an old house, authentic Cajun food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There was a DC branch that folded, but the Leesburg original was always better -- run by a lady who knows how to cook. They used to have entertainment at times, but check that because we've been in Florida for the winter. Good food for sure, and cheap.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.