We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Cajun food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cajun Experience

The Cajun Experience
14 Loudoun St., Leesburg, VA
703-777-6580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cajun Experience is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 160 Restaurants in Leesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Cajun food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not a formal, stuffy, white linen establishment, but REAL Cajun food prepared and served very well. Great appetizers, excellent crawfish etouffe, efficient, friendly service. Very small room, so recommend reservations. If you really like Cajun food, you'll love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The CrawMac&Cheese, étouffée, fried catfish, fried crawfish tails, and jambalaya are delicious, written in descending order of awesomeness. Service was prompt and extremely friendly. The waitrons were expert in their suggestions of both food and wine. (I wish they wore name tags so I could compliment them by name!). The only "downer" is that the other patrons were very unfriendly -- it was downright wierd, given the close quarters and seating arrangement so very appropriate for Louisiana. Oh, well -- I guess you can't make customers get in the spirit, just sell them the food and hope they'll get it later. We will be back, and particularly plan to bring our Cajun transplant friend along. She will love it, and will get those other "NoVa" patrons communing in no time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
114 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“THE BUGS ARE COMING! LIVE CRAWFISH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went to their outdoor patio for a real Cajun crawdaddy boil! It was OUTSTANDING! My wife and I couldn't stop eating them--and we didn't have to--ALL YOU CAN EAT! ($40) We "pinched the tail and sucked the head" of over 12 lbs of those critters! Brian, the owner, is doing some cool things there too like an "open carry" night (Wed).
Cold beers, great food, fun place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My sister and I stumbled on this place because we saw they had outside seating on a beautiful day. The wonderful surprise was that the food was amazing. The fried oysters were magnificently memorable and the Chef's special lunch, etoufee topped with fried catfish was incredible. We loved our helpful and engaging waitress and enjoyed our chat with the owner who was smoking some meat in the outside area as we ate our lunch. This was our first visit to Leesburg, and I know where we will be having lunch on our second trip! Next time you are in Leesburg, go here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Cajun in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you want the best crawfish macaroni and cheese, this is the place! I have eaten at this restaurant three times and so far, this is my favorite entree (it is actually listed as a side dish, but is big enough for an entre with left-overs for the next day). They put plenty of crawfish, mellow cheddar cheese, and just the right kick of Cajun spices into this home-made treat. Delicious! As an appetizer, I recommend the BBQ Shrimp Ma Cherie (see menu for description). The flavors are complex and intense. My dessert of choice is the bread pudding (although you have to ask for it, vanilla ice cream is a must to go with it). Regarding the service, they treated us like somewhere between special guests and family. One night, the owner was our server. I wish I could remember the name of our server (a young woman) on our last visit. She went out of her way for us and saw to our every need. I'm looking forward to dining on the patio out back during Spring and Summer. Located in downtown Leesburg, this converted house (the second oldest house in Leesburg) lends a perfect atmosphere to enjoy your Cajun experience.

http://www.cajunexperience.biz

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cajun Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.