We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BUGS ARE COMING! LIVE CRAWFISH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va

The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va
14 Loudoun St., Leesburg, VA
703-777-6580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 168 restaurants in Leesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“THE BUGS ARE COMING! LIVE CRAWFISH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went to their outdoor patio for a real Cajun crawdaddy boil! It was OUTSTANDING! My wife and I couldn't stop eating them--and we didn't have to--ALL YOU CAN EAT! ($40) We "pinched the tail and sucked the head" of over 12 lbs of those critters! Brian, the owner, is doing some cool things there too like an "open carry" night (Wed).
Cold beers, great food, fun place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    29
    26
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My sister and I stumbled on this place because we saw they had outside seating on a beautiful day. The wonderful surprise was that the food was amazing. The fried oysters were magnificently memorable and the Chef's special lunch, etoufee topped with fried catfish was incredible. We loved our helpful and engaging waitress and enjoyed our chat with the owner who was smoking some meat in the outside area as we ate our lunch. This was our first visit to Leesburg, and I know where we will be having lunch on our second trip! Next time you are in Leesburg, go here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Cajun in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you want the best crawfish macaroni and cheese, this is the place! I have eaten at this restaurant three times and so far, this is my favorite entree (it is actually listed as a side dish, but is big enough for an entre with left-overs for the next day). They put plenty of crawfish, mellow cheddar cheese, and just the right kick of Cajun spices into this home-made treat. Delicious! As an appetizer, I recommend the BBQ Shrimp Ma Cherie (see menu for description). The flavors are complex and intense. My dessert of choice is the bread pudding (although you have to ask for it, vanilla ice cream is a must to go with it). Regarding the service, they treated us like somewhere between special guests and family. One night, the owner was our server. I wish I could remember the name of our server (a young woman) on our last visit. She went out of her way for us and saw to our every need. I'm looking forward to dining on the patio out back during Spring and Summer. Located in downtown Leesburg, this converted house (the second oldest house in Leesburg) lends a perfect atmosphere to enjoy your Cajun experience.

http://www.cajunexperience.biz

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had Sunday brunch here on our walk to the Leesburg Garden Show. The restaurant is in an old house and very unassuming. We noticed it the day before and thought we'd try it. Their brunch menu only has about 6 Cajun inspired items plus a bottomless mimosa. Just be prepared to wait because all of the meals are cooked fresh. We had the shrimp and grits and the Cajun shrimp benedict. We also ordered begniets to go with our coffee. Everything was very good with just light hint of Cajun heat. We were both happy with our choices and would eat here again to try their lunch and dinner menus. If you enjoy Cajun food you'll enjoy dining here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The food is outstanding, even if the service takes a little longer than hoped for....it is personal service and the food is awesome!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.