We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cajun Experience

The Cajun Experience
14 Loudoun St., Leesburg, VA
703-777-6580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cajun Experience is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 192 Restaurants in Leesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Washington DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My sister and I stumbled on this place because we saw they had outside seating on a beautiful day. The wonderful surprise was that the food was amazing. The fried oysters were magnificently memorable and the Chef's special lunch, etoufee topped with fried catfish was incredible. We loved our helpful and engaging waitress and enjoyed our chat with the owner who was smoking some meat in the outside area as we ate our lunch. This was our first visit to Leesburg, and I know where we will be having lunch on our second trip! Next time you are in Leesburg, go here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia_32WashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Cajun in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you want the best crawfish macaroni and cheese, this is the place! I have eaten at this restaurant three times and so far, this is my favorite entree (it is actually listed as a side dish, but is big enough for an entre with left-overs for the next day). They put plenty of crawfish, mellow cheddar cheese, and just the right kick of Cajun spices into this home-made treat. Delicious! As an appetizer, I recommend the BBQ Shrimp Ma Cherie (see menu for description). The flavors are complex and intense. My dessert of choice is the bread pudding (although you have to ask for it, vanilla ice cream is a must to go with it). Regarding the service, they treated us like somewhere between special guests and family. One night, the owner was our server. I wish I could remember the name of our server (a young woman) on our last visit. She went out of her way for us and saw to our every need. I'm looking forward to dining on the patio out back during Spring and Summer. Located in downtown Leesburg, this converted house (the second oldest house in Leesburg) lends a perfect atmosphere to enjoy your Cajun experience.

http://www.cajunexperience.biz

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeftmyheartinLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
193 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had Sunday brunch here on our walk to the Leesburg Garden Show. The restaurant is in an old house and very unassuming. We noticed it the day before and thought we'd try it. Their brunch menu only has about 6 Cajun inspired items plus a bottomless mimosa. Just be prepared to wait because all of the meals are cooked fresh. We had the shrimp and grits and the Cajun shrimp benedict. We also ordered begniets to go with our coffee. Everything was very good with just light hint of Cajun heat. We were both happy with our choices and would eat here again to try their lunch and dinner menus. If you enjoy Cajun food you'll enjoy dining here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The food is outstanding, even if the service takes a little longer than hoped for....it is personal service and the food is awesome!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shizuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Authentic Cajun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

So this is the place to go for Cajun in the NOVA area. Excellent foor and the crawfish boils are not to be missed. The seating inside can be a little cramped but they usually open up some outdoor seating in the summer once the weather gets nice. Best place to get some cold Abita beer and some Boudin Balls.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foreman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing