We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our "regular" list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cajun Experience

The Cajun Experience
14 Loudoun St., Leesburg, VA
703-777-6580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cajun Experience is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 161 Restaurants in Leesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On our "regular" list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I have made Cajun Experience a regular stop on our Leesburg restaurant rotation. The food is authentic cajun food that is absolutely delicious and served in good sized portions. While the building itself and the decoration leaves a lot to be desired, we don't go to look at the walls or the silverware, we go for the Crawfish Mac & Cheese, Alligator, Gumbo and Jumbalaya, all of which are delcious.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Jumping for Jambalaya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just had lunch at the Cajun Experience and we both thought the wine and food were perfect. The Jambalya wine by the glass was $9.... which was excellent and the entrees were also reasonably priced. I had the Jambalaya and my husband had the Sausage Gumbo with Beignets for dessert. Everything was excellent and reminded me so much of my native New Orleans. We sat outside... a beautiful Fall day and thought how lucky we were to have stumbled upon the Cajun Experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Casual venue hides excellent fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Can't believe how fortunate we are to have chosen The Cajun Experience for lunch. Chris greeted us as we walked in, and answered our questions about how various dished were prepared. His confidence in the food was interesting until we tasted it. He had a reason to be confident! I enjoyed the Chicken and Sausage Gumbo while my husband ate every bit of the Crawfish Étouffée. We shared an order of Cafe du Monde Beignets for dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant. Overlook the casual atmosphere, choose this restaurant for the wonderfully authentic food and friendly service. Restaurant is child friendly too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Cajun food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is average to me. With a place like northern virginia, that lacks good places to eat (everything in Nova seems to be a chain), you'd think this place would be a home run! The food was decent, service was ok, nothing to write rave reviews about. the beignets were the best thing we had.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dingy but delicious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

If you can get past the dingy and dated interior (or just sit outside like we did), the food is pretty good! The hush puppies were huge and just right the way they should be: crispy outside, tender inside. There was a nice level of spice to the jambalaya (just one little shrimp in the whole serving though!) and the gumbo had some good heat to it too. The service is slow and the plates are all chipped, but overall, not too bad for NoVA.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cajun Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.