We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great party food--bread pudding was a hit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va

The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va
14 Loudoun St., Leesburg, VA
703-777-6580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 178 Restaurants in Leesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great party food--bread pudding was a hit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We hosted an engagement party for our daughter and her husband-to-be with a New Orleans theme. She and I had lunch here one day to check out the food, we ate outside in the back. I have never been to New Orleans, but my daughter proclaimed it authentic when we walked up the stairs and in the front door, only to retrace our steps and walk around the building to the back. The outside area in the back is nice, trees overhead, nothing fancy. Lunch was very good with delicious beignets after we finished our lunch, so I decided to order some food for the party. Everyone gobbled up the muffalettas, which Cajun Experience cut in half and I cut in half again, they are huge sandwiches. They were a hit. Then I served the bread pudding for dessert. People came back for seconds and a couple of guests, who were born and raised in New Orleans, said it was the best bread pudding they had ever had! Nothing fancy here, don't be put off by the lack of decor, you'll enjoy the food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Spice it up!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Cajun Experience is my kind of place - a joint that serves up a memorable menu. But I really wish their jambalaya and other Cajun offerings were more like what you get in the south - spice it up! The ambiance is nothing to speak off, but overall a good value for the dollar.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had meant to try this restaurant months ago, but it is just far away enough from our home that the logistics never quite seemed to work out. Then we found ourselves out in Leesburg on another matter in early evening, and thought "perfect opportunity". Our first impression on entering the eatery - I can't really call it a restaurant - was, this isn't just "down home", or "basic", this is dirty, grungy and totally unappetizing. But we still persevered. We waited fruitlessly for 8 minutes and decided to seat ourselves. Since only one other table was occupied this was not a challenge. We waited a few more minutes and I went to the kitchen door and called out. A harassed and, sorry, none too clean individual (actual job description unknown) told me somebody "would be right with you". We waited a final five minutes (and yes, I am a "time freak" and made these timings ruthlessly and accurately) and left. During that whole time nobody had seen to the one other occupied table either; I somehow doubt that they ever ate. We love N'orleans cuisine but sorry, help yourself and give this place a miss. And by the way we have now officially given up on finding quality New Orleans style cooking outside of New Orleans.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“If you leave hungry, it's your own fault!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Cajun Experience is delicious AND a bargain. (We came to this conclusion even before seeing that it was a Washingtonian Cheap Eats winner.) We had the chicken and sausage gumbo (sooo good), a fried shrimp po boy with house-made chips (even better), a grilled shrimp salad (a tasty option if you don't like fried things), two huge beignets, a beer and an iced tea--all for $33! Everything tasted fresh and came out of the kitchen piping hot. Service was friendly and fast. The decor isn't winning any awards, but aren't hole-in-the-wall places the best places? We're so glad we found this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed the Cajun Experience. We dined outside and there was two men playing music which added to the experience. It was a very pleasant evening. We ordered the hush puppies for appetizer and I got the shrimp po boy and my husband got the seafood gumbo. They were both delicious. We enjoyed the food and the outdoor atmosphere. It is a small place, so if you are going, make reservations and if it is warm, ask to sit outside. The service was good, but the kitchen got backed up due to being busy and when we ordered dessert, after waiting about 30 minutes, we cancelled and just got check. Besides this, it was a great place to eat with good food. If you sit out back there is a nice place for kids to run around so you can sit and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.