We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you leave hungry, it's your own fault!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va

The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va
14 Loudoun St., Leesburg, VA
703-777-6580
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: www.cajunexperience.biz
Aldie, Virginia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“If you leave hungry, it's your own fault!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Cajun Experience is delicious AND a bargain. (We came to this conclusion even before seeing that it was a Washingtonian Cheap Eats winner.) We had the chicken and sausage gumbo (sooo good), a fried shrimp po boy with house-made chips (even better), a grilled shrimp salad (a tasty option if you don't like fried things), two huge beignets, a beer and an iced tea--all for $33! Everything tasted fresh and came out of the kitchen piping hot. Service was friendly and fast. The decor isn't winning any awards, but aren't hole-in-the-wall places the best places? We're so glad we found this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed the Cajun Experience. We dined outside and there was two men playing music which added to the experience. It was a very pleasant evening. We ordered the hush puppies for appetizer and I got the shrimp po boy and my husband got the seafood gumbo. They were both delicious. We enjoyed the food and the outdoor atmosphere. It is a small place, so if you are going, make reservations and if it is warm, ask to sit outside. The service was good, but the kitchen got backed up due to being busy and when we ordered dessert, after waiting about 30 minutes, we cancelled and just got check. Besides this, it was a great place to eat with good food. If you sit out back there is a nice place for kids to run around so you can sit and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Kudos from a real live Cajun & his wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband is a Cajun from Cecilia, LA (near Lafayette, home of the owners from what I understand). And he and I have had quite a number of disappointing experiences with "Cajun" food in the past. Not this time! We each had a cup (a generous cup) of the seafood gumbo which tasted authentic and delicious, as if it was made using a real roux, although it could have used a little less salt (our ONLY complaint!). Then we each had a fried shrimp po-boy - delicious with obviously fresh fried shrimp and the right amount of sauce in a delicious roll. And of course we had to finish with the biegnets (not actually Cajun - more Creole from Cafe du Monde in New Orleans) but still wonderful! The food was excellent and reasonably priced for the luncheon special. I had a glass of house cabernet that was a generous pour and also reasonably priced. We will definitely be back - our server was lovely and the meal a very nice true Cajun experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginnie
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a busy morning!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I went to the Leesburg Garden Festival this weekend and on our way back to our car, came upon the Cajun Experience. It is located in an historic building in town and has several cozy interior dining rooms and a patio. We chose the patio since it was a gorgeous day and there was comfortable seating. Although there were two very large patio umbrellas, some of the tables were in the sun, perhaps additional umbrellas would be a good idea. There was a stage in one corner of the patio, so they must have entertainment on weekend evenings - we'll have to check that out!
We ordered po boys - one shrimp and the other blackened chicken - both flavorful - and their homemade chips were a yum! Of course, we had to have beignets, and although not as fluffy as at Cafe du Monde, they are a close second!
And I have to mention our waitress - perhaps new to this establishment, as she mentioned - but absolutely excellent! Thank you!!
We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Cajun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Maybe not as good as New Orleans - but a lot closer to home. We had two dishes and the Jumbajia was excellent. Nice and spicy and a plate full. There were several other tables full and music in the background but we were easily able to hold a conversation. The restuarant is a converted house which even feels like Old New Orleans. We were downstairs but they also serve upstairs. Right in downtown Leesburg which is a nice little town and a nice place to walk down mainstreet.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cajun Experience, Leesburg Va, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.