We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for history buffs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park

Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park
Balls Bluff Rd., NE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703 737-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
HERNDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting for history buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant walk in the woods where you can see small, little known Union & Southern cemeteries. Also nice lookout on the Potomac. Be careful to check for deer ticks afterwards--also lots of other bugs, so use repellant.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History and Nature Combine well at Ball's Bluff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've been going here for fifteen years. My first interest was the beautiful wildflowers in April. Later as the park concentrated more on the Civil War battle, I learned from the weekend docents. A very peaceful, scenic place now.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hiking trails and history in one location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed finding nice trails where we walked with our dogs and read about various Civil War skirmishes also, all within a few minute drive from where we were staying in Leesburg.,

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Balls Bluff Park and the Civil War”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It may seem strange that a large Civil War battlefield sits smack in the middle of one of the fastest growing counties in the country. But Loudoun County, Virginia is filled with history related to this war, and one can see it very well at Balls Bluff Battlefield. The small cemetery containing markers of mostly unknown soldiers who died in the war sits serenely near the entrance of the park. It's been said by the locals that ghostly appearances of civil war soldiers can sometimes be seen. Given that many soldiers died terrible deaths here, it's no wonder. One must be very careful while going through the park, as there are steep drop offs throughout it -- the steepest of which is along the Potomac River which courses through the park. Visitors should get a map of the park and learn where the river is and be mindful of the steep drop off. Be especially mindful of kids through this area. In spite of the thousands of houses that have sprung up in this old and historical county, Loudoun still holds many fascinating tales from days of yore, and Balls Bluff battleground figures prominently in many of those stories. If you yearn to learn more about this chaotic time in our nation's history, it would be worth your while to include Balls Bluff into your itinerary.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
588 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot on a horrific site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Battle of Ball's Bluff doesn't show up in a lot of history books, but it was still an important engagement. The area is much better than it was only a few years ago. A lot of time, attention and money has been put into maintaining this park. Too bad for the need for more houses into the area. It's a must see for Civil War buffs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.