We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot on a horrific site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park

Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park
Balls Bluff Rd., NE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703 737-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 50 attractions in Leesburg
Type: Parks, Battlefields
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot on a horrific site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Battle of Ball's Bluff doesn't show up in a lot of history books, but it was still an important engagement. The area is much better than it was only a few years ago. A lot of time, attention and money has been put into maintaining this park. Too bad for the need for more houses into the area. It's a must see for Civil War buffs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Interesting to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful now, but certainly was not at one time. Interesting part of our history. Too bad there are so many other buildings/homes build around the battlefield.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice trails, take a buddy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We came here with family - four adults and one child, and enjoyed a nice walk while our neice collected various leaves and rocks to play with along the way. The trails are fairly well maintained and marked and it is an easy walk, even for people with a bad backor or bum knee. There weren't a ton of descriptive signs, but my husband had lots of civil war stories to lecture us on. I keep hearing you can take a free guided tour with a volunteer but we have not done that, yet. I believe the Battlefield tours are held on Saturdays and Sundays at 11am and 1pm, but not in the winter. We will likely take a tour one of these days. Check out their website for more info: nvrpa.org

Warnings: There are no toilets along the trails, so use them in the parking lot before you set off. There are also no trash cans along the way, so carry out what you carry in.
Ladies - do not go jogging here alone after dusk. Leesburg is a pretty safe town, but I've heard rumblings of the occasional scare here for lone females out for a walk/run.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great Place for A walk and a Little Civil War History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent an hour and a half here mostly for exercise. There are a half dozen or so walks - all color coded and well marked. The trails are though a nice deciduous forest with lots of white tail deer. We were there after several days of rain so lots of mozzies but we kept moving and therefore no problem. there are interpretive signs for the history p[art along one trail. there is a small cemetery for some soldiers lost in the fight. It was a good workout with peekaboo views of the Potomac. Probably better views after the leaves drop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice and kept up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice and kept up. Great trails and a great view. Needs more interpretive signs however. Important Civil War site often overlooked by history

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park to your Saves list