We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park

Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park
Balls Bluff Rd., NE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703 737-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 36 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Battlefields, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful now, but certainly was not at one time. Interesting part of our history. Too bad there are so many other buildings/homes build around the battlefield.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice trails, take a buddy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We came here with family - four adults and one child, and enjoyed a nice walk while our neice collected various leaves and rocks to play with along the way. The trails are fairly well maintained and marked and it is an easy walk, even for people with a bad backor or bum knee. There weren't a ton of descriptive signs, but my husband had lots of civil war stories to lecture us on. I keep hearing you can take a free guided tour with a volunteer but we have not done that, yet. I believe the Battlefield tours are held on Saturdays and Sundays at 11am and 1pm, but not in the winter. We will likely take a tour one of these days. Check out their website for more info: nvrpa.org

Warnings: There are no toilets along the trails, so use them in the parking lot before you set off. There are also no trash cans along the way, so carry out what you carry in.
Ladies - do not go jogging here alone after dusk. Leesburg is a pretty safe town, but I've heard rumblings of the occasional scare here for lone females out for a walk/run.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Great Place for A walk and a Little Civil War History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent an hour and a half here mostly for exercise. There are a half dozen or so walks - all color coded and well marked. The trails are though a nice deciduous forest with lots of white tail deer. We were there after several days of rain so lots of mozzies but we kept moving and therefore no problem. there are interpretive signs for the history p[art along one trail. there is a small cemetery for some soldiers lost in the fight. It was a good workout with peekaboo views of the Potomac. Probably better views after the leaves drop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice and kept up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice and kept up. Great trails and a great view. Needs more interpretive signs however. Important Civil War site often overlooked by history

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surrounded, but not by soldiers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a local, I know, a rarity. I am also a Living Historian, and have participated in Historic events at Ball's Bluff. I HATE that this sacred area is surrounded by expensive but cheaply made suburban houses. It deserves old stone houses and rail fences!
That being said, make sure you go when a volunteer will give a tour. Plan to spend time soaking up the definite atmosphere and thoughts about HOW the soldiers actually got their weaponry up the banks of the Potomac (exhausting in itself) and THEN battle it out. Unreal.
This Park is small, intimate, once you wade through suburbia, and quite touching. It is an important place in the history of VIrginia, and the song "Vacant Chair" was penned as a result of the battle that took place there. Not to be missed!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park also viewed

 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.