We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded, but not by soldiers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park

Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park
Balls Bluff Rd., NE, Leesburg, VA 20175
703 737-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 50 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Parks, Battlefields
Attraction Details
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surrounded, but not by soldiers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a local, I know, a rarity. I am also a Living Historian, and have participated in Historic events at Ball's Bluff. I HATE that this sacred area is surrounded by expensive but cheaply made suburban houses. It deserves old stone houses and rail fences!
That being said, make sure you go when a volunteer will give a tour. Plan to spend time soaking up the definite atmosphere and thoughts about HOW the soldiers actually got their weaponry up the banks of the Potomac (exhausting in itself) and THEN battle it out. Unreal.
This Park is small, intimate, once you wade through suburbia, and quite touching. It is an important place in the history of VIrginia, and the song "Vacant Chair" was penned as a result of the battle that took place there. Not to be missed!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small Battlefield and Cemetary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Compact Civil War battlefield. The free guided tours on Saturdays and Sundays are a must. The tour guides are very knowledgable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangoon
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Facilities very lacking but nice walk - interesting history and I'm really surprised it still exists. See it soon before townhouses over take it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful after work hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I have been here twice this week with our dog. Great hills, good workout and amazingly marked trails. You will definitely get your sweat rollin' if you hike this at a good pace. Thank you, Leesburg, Parks-n-Recreation! What a fun discovery!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not Much to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It has a very small dedicated cemetery and that's about it. A tour guide will try and amaze you with stories of days of olde if he's around. Otherwise, no wild life to speak of or anything else to look at. Be careful on the "trails" especially the closer to the river you get.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ball's Bluff Battlefield Regional Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.