We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a library...a piece of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Balch Library

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thomas Balch Library
208 West Market St., Leesburg, VA 20176
703 737-7195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 41 Attractions in Leesburg
Type: Libraries, Traveler Resources
Attraction details
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not just a library...a piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a lovely library with pieces of Leesburg and Loudoun County History! It's worth some time visiting the library and just talking to their wonderfully engaging staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Architectural Gem of a Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Balch Library has an excellent collection of genealogical and historical research materials and is housed in a unique and historic building.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Genealogy Library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Library not only has Virginia research material, but also many other states, as well. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. There are many useful databases, including Ancestry and Genealogy Bank. It is well worth your time to visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centerburg, ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“lots of resources”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

they have so many resources and the staff is there to assist you in your research. Staff is very knowledgeable. It was never too busy so I could get personal attention.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Library With Attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love libraries. Books, quietness... a respite from the outside world. I visited the Balch Library to simply work on a book I'm writing. It's a beautifully-appointed library with a nice selection of reading and reference materials. There are no kids running around in the Balch library because I don't believe that it is allowed to have any shred of noisiness here.

Although the librarian manning the front desk was friendly enough, I had the odd feeling that I was less than welcomed. It's a bit of a pretentious atmosphere.

Although I find a larger, busy library a more difficult place to sit in peace and write or read, I never feel as if I'm not of the proper ilk to walk through the doors.

I appreciate the history and appointments at Balch Library, but for now I'll stick to visiting other local libraries and bookstores.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Balch Library also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Thomas Balch Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Balch Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.