We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Theatre

Tally Ho Theatre
19 W. Market St., Leesburg, VA 20176
703 777-1168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One of the last”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Too bad, August 31, 2012 was the last showing in this historic theater. My son loves to walk there to see movies, but no more as it is being let go.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    4
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I found it very quaint, sweety just saw old. I liked the popcorn and the small theaters. The restrooms were clean!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Berkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love Three Dollar Thursdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place is like a time travellers dream! I like the old fashion movie theatre. It has proper film and not in Dolby sound of digital...its like what you remember from your childhood. I also like that the screen is so high that it doesn't matter if someone 10 feet tall is sitting in front of you, it doesn't ruin your viewing pleasure. Also the seats are comfortable (but narrower) than main stream cimemas...We went to see a show the other night and my entire family can watch for less than the price of an adult ticket at the other cinema in Leesburg. Good atmosphere and everyone enjoyed themselves...the cinema was packed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Needs to cleaned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The thearter should have some charm,but is just run down and dirty.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A thrifty alternative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Tally Ho is a quaint little theater in the heart of downtown Leesburg. If you are looking for a deluxe experience with extra cushy seats, a pristine environment, and an absolutely silent crowd, this is not the place. But if you want an inexpensive local option, and don't mind a little color, (ie someone snoring the back seat, sticky floors, and the occasional sound glitch), then Three Dollar Thursdays are the way to go.

For locals who follow on Twitter or FB, there is always the opportunity for free midnight showings of select movies, always a treat!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tally Ho Theatre also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Tally Ho Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tally Ho Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.