We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting Room has character” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casanel Vineyards

Casanel Vineyards
17956 Canby Rd, Leesburg, VA 20175
540 751-1776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Activities in Leesburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Washington, dc
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tasting Room has character”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

A group of ten of us braved a freakish October snowstorm on a tour bus driven by someone who had knee surgery the day before. The owners of the winery were welcoming and all were in costume dressed as pirates as Halloween was that week. the servers provided a history of the winery and though Im not a big fan of Virginia wine in general, Casanel had some good wines. The owners were hospitable and we had a nice time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I went to Casanel last weekend. It was a nice day and the vineyard was busy. The staff made it clear that they they needed to move us through quickly. The wine was't bad,but it wasn't great either. The experience didn't make me want to buy wine or come back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very commercial”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The pictures on the web site look quite inviting. Once arriving on the property, it was evident that it was very commercial. The wine did not appeal to anyone in my group of four. We were rushed and was a total waste of the tasting fee. I could have picked up bottles of wine from Trader Joes for the same amount of money and we would have enjoyed it more!

I have visited many wineries in Virginia and California...I have to say this is one that I will not recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Winery in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The wine at Casanel was above average. The service was excellent. The winery is in a beautiful setting and one can tell that the owners are passionate about the wine experience. They are expanding their facilities which is great but the construction took away a bit from the experience. I recommend the experience at least once.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful winery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited Casanel on a Monday afternoon and found it charming and inviting. You first view the sight of plenty of vines cascading down the property to a house and the winery facilities...worth a picture perfect photograph. The small wine tasting building is quaint and very nice inside. (A much larger one is under construction). Once inside, family members greet you. The lovely Katie did a top notch job of explaining the Casanel wines during our tasting and we truly enjoyed everything. We made our selections and perused the grounds after. If you plan to visit wineries in the Leesburg area you simply must put this one on your list. Good wine, good people, good time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanel Vineyards also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Casanel Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanel Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.