We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive place, but food is often disappointing and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palio of Leesburg

Palio of Leesburg
2 West Market Street, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-779-0060
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 164 restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The award winning Palio Ristorante Italiano is a combination of three of the premier historic buildings in downtown Leesburg, Virginia. Palio provides Leesburg's newest venue for dining, entertaining, and banquet facilities. Palio has designed and built an establishment like no other in the Washington area, utilizing unique combinations of cherry wood, onyx, and antique mirrors and chandeliers. The design has been meticulously configured into the existing space in these historic buildings. The theme of the Palio derives from the ancient horse race -beautiful and bold, risky and exciting, a feast for the eyes as well as the senses. Good music, a fine wine selection, house made pasta and bread prepared on site, and sourcing from local producers, can only be described as a beautiful experience- all presented in an historic setting that would be as comfortable in Italy as it is in Loudoun County.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Attractive place, but food is often disappointing and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Veal piccata was pretty good, but chicken piccata was not. The "beet salad" was a little pile of beets, another pile of cucumber, another of lettuce, a scant tablespoon of cheese and no dressing -- amateurish at best. Desert, a small chocolate cake, was mediocre. The cheapest glass of Chardonnay is $13 (and not that great), which is just plain gouging. An attractive place, but we've been there three times over the past year or two and the last time was surely the last.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    35
    22
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Leave your hotel for dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We happend on this restaurant by walking around old town Leesburg. There was a cool jazz band playing on the first floor, but the friendly staff was accommodating to seat us upstairs away from the music. They offered a nice range of quality wines and gave advice to pair them with our meals. The menu had a number of quality pasta and fish dishes. The service was attentive and personable. We relaxed and enjoyed our meals which were delicious and created with craft - so much better than a resort-style corporate kitchen!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“overly priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

this restaurant has great ambiance but the food is just mediocre and way overpriced. We also waited a long time for our food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My daughter and I went to Palio last Sat evening for the first time. The atmosphere is quaint and set in historic Old Town Leesburg. The service was fantastic. My daughter is a vegetarian and as there were no vegetarian entrees on the menu, our server asked to chef to make my daughter a special dish which he did. The pasta was fresh and made in house, we had a wonderful meal. On our way out, the executive chef, Antonio came out to speak with us and we thanked him profusely for accommodating my daughters dietary preferences. Antonio was charming and quite funny-he entertained us with stories for a good 15 minutes before we left. He told us anytime we want to come again to call ahead and ask for him and he would make my daughter another delicious vegetarian entree! You don't get this kind of outstanding service at most places-thanks Antonio, we will see you soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived a few minutes for our 7:00 pm reservation. We were seated immediately and the server came and introduced himself. He poured our water and left without asking if we wanted a drink. Twenty minutes passed and the waiter never returned so we goy up and left. High prices and poor service, I don't think so.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio of Leesburg also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Palio of Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio of Leesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.