We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palio of Leesburg

Palio of Leesburg
2 West Market Street, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-779-0060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palio of Leesburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 171 Restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The award winning Palio Ristorante Italiano is a combination of three of the premier historic buildings in downtown Leesburg, Virginia. Palio provides Leesburg's newest venue for dining, entertaining, and banquet facilities. Palio has designed and built an establishment like no other in the Washington area, utilizing unique combinations of cherry wood, onyx, and antique mirrors and chandeliers. The design has been meticulously configured into the existing space in these historic buildings. The theme of the Palio derives from the ancient horse race -beautiful and bold, risky and exciting, a feast for the eyes as well as the senses. Good music, a fine wine selection, house made pasta and bread prepared on site, and sourcing from local producers, can only be described as a beautiful experience- all presented in an historic setting that would be as comfortable in Italy as it is in Loudoun County.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We visited Palio on a week night for our wedding anniversary. The food was very good. I did not look at the menu online in advance of our evening, but I found the menu to be priced fairly for a nice meal. They have 2 options, a la carte or prix fixe. Our meal (both prix fixe) was about $110. The portions were good size on all courses. The veal was wonderful, the ravioli was ok; the appetizers and salads were both very good; the chocolate cake was super for dessert; the tiramisu was not (watery, too much cocoa powder on top). The restaurant was not crowded and we had an intimate special dinner. The service was nice and efficient. We had to wait a bit to get our check, but we were in no hurry. We enjoyed it and we will go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Very nice for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch and found nice atmosphere, good service and great food. Pasta was terrific. Caesar salad very fresh. Meatball sandwich was good. Romantic place as well. Do go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We dined here on Easter evening. Food was fantastic! Owner/chef came to each table, to say hello and make sure everything was perfect. Very nice for special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great girls lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Enjoyed a great with the girls yesterday. Great service, great atmosphere and great food. The lasagna was very good. The steak salads were huge with a good sized piece of steak.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food... but bring your patience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I brought the entire family for a post-Church brunch/lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The place was mildly busy, nothing extraordinary. We each had a different dish and every meal was superb. BUT it took 2 hours and 15 minutes to get the meal. One thing to note: unlike the menu's assertion, they do not use proscuitto in some of their dishes. They used what tasted like country ham (or VA ham). You can get away with that in the South, but not with a family of New Yorkers. When I questioned the waiter, he said they used speck instead of proscuitto. I like speck, and this wasn't speck (or the chef doesn't know how to use speck). Regardless, the food was great. Anyway, this place is not for little kids. Bring your patience and your wallet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio of Leesburg also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Palio of Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio of Leesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.