We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palio of Leesburg

Palio of Leesburg
2 West Market Street, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-779-0060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palio of Leesburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The award winning Palio Ristorante Italiano is a combination of three of the premier historic buildings in downtown Leesburg, Virginia. Palio provides Leesburg's newest venue for dining, entertaining, and banquet facilities. Palio has designed and built an establishment like no other in the Washington area, utilizing unique combinations of cherry wood, onyx, and antique mirrors and chandeliers. The design has been meticulously configured into the existing space in these historic buildings. The theme of the Palio derives from the ancient horse race -beautiful and bold, risky and exciting, a feast for the eyes as well as the senses. Good music, a fine wine selection, house made pasta and bread prepared on site, and sourcing from local producers, can only be described as a beautiful experience- all presented in an historic setting that would be as comfortable in Italy as it is in Loudoun County.
IAD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This has become our new favorite restaurant. The food and service are consistent and we are never disappointed. The only problem is trying to decide what to have, from the delicious lobster ravioli with a light creamy vodka sauce to the amazing veal chop and there is the stuffed pork chop. The head waiter always greets us by name, has set aside a bottle of our favorite wine because he knows we are regulars and checks on us throughout the meal. Short of actually going to Italy you will be challenged to find a more authentic Bolognese. We had a casual (jeans) meal in bar area last time and the service and food was just as amazing as the dining room. Be sure to try the Limoncello Martini - so good! Saturdays are always packed, suggest a reservation. Sunday's you can usually walk in and get a table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    36
    25
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good food but very brightly lit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arrived on a Fri nite without a reservation but there was plenty of room to accommodate. The place is huge! Courteous staff but bartender seemed annoyed that the wine selection hadn't ever been updated for mos and people continued to ask for certain things they never had. Zin and California Chardonnay to be specific.
Had mushroom ravioli and a veal marsala type entree, and split a great salad.
They had large group parties there, couples, small groups and families there so obviously able to accommodate variety.
Weird that it was so brightly lit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“awesome brunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Been a few times for dinner and it was good, but what really stood out for me here was the brunch. Rosemary potatoes, fennel sausage, that I believe is made on site, European style cheese plate for dessert with some unique and flavorful choices, and bottomless bellini's or bloody mary's. Yummm..i need to go back soon!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Italian food, nice decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

4 people for dinner. We had soup, salads, 4 different entrees and desert and all were wonderful. The lamb pasta "Cavatelli alla Pugliese" and the lobster stuffed ravioli special were especially scrumptious. The wine list has extensive italian choices. A few more pasta dish options would be a plus.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyce, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Rehearsal dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently had Palio host a rehearsal dinner for 40 guests. Many of the guests complimented the food and service as well as the facility. But beyond the reaction of the guests we had, I can tell you that Palio was wonderful to work with from our initial decision to hire them. Instead of feeling like I was being nickeled and dimed to death, the pricing was clear, they worked with us on the price, they did an excellent job on all counts, the entire dinner went very smoothly, and I came away from the event feeling like I would give them return business without hesitation.

Additionally when I was presented with the bill the server told me that their policy was not to add a gratuity automatically but to allow me to determine the entire amount. I was impressed by this attitude along with everything else.

We had considered Palio for the dinner after having an excellent meal there and being overwhelmed/disappointed with many other restaurants we had checked on in the area. We were not disappointed. I don't believe you will be either.

Our compliments to the staff, management, and Executive Chef Antonio at Palio.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio of Leesburg also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County

Been to Palio of Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio of Leesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.