We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine and Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palio of Leesburg

Palio of Leesburg
2 West Market Street, Leesburg, VA 20176
+1 703-779-0060
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 164 restaurants in Leesburg
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The award winning Palio Ristorante Italiano is a combination of three of the premier historic buildings in downtown Leesburg, Virginia. Palio provides Leesburg's newest venue for dining, entertaining, and banquet facilities. Palio has designed and built an establishment like no other in the Washington area, utilizing unique combinations of cherry wood, onyx, and antique mirrors and chandeliers. The design has been meticulously configured into the existing space in these historic buildings. The theme of the Palio derives from the ancient horse race -beautiful and bold, risky and exciting, a feast for the eyes as well as the senses. Good music, a fine wine selection, house made pasta and bread prepared on site, and sourcing from local producers, can only be described as a beautiful experience- all presented in an historic setting that would be as comfortable in Italy as it is in Loudoun County.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Wine and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is an upscale Italian restaurant in downtown. They have a very good wine list! The waiter was attentive and the food was good. I was surprised that there weren't more pasta dishes, especially with a vegetarian in our group, but we all enjoyed our dinners. We will definitely go back, but probably for a special occasion rather than just one of those nights where you're too tired to cook after work.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    35
    22
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seven valleys, pa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stumbled across this restaurant when looking for something that would please the whole family. This did not disappoint! Food was fresh. The service was excellent. LOVED the mushroom ravioli!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The food was great and very authentic. The service not so. We waited over 30 minutes for our salads. While an excuse was given it was inadequate. The server was annoying in his effort to up sell wine and food choices. Once order was placed we were neglected. While I may go back it would be for the food not the rest of the experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I went with my mother last Friday, and liked it so much I took my husband there the next day. The soup of the day (a tomato basil cream) was delicious and obviously just made. We also tried the burrata with heirloom tomatoes, calamari fritti, mushroom ravioli and one of the specials of the day, lobster ravioli. All were outstanding. The service was attentive. The waiter even brought me extra tomatoes (with no extra charge) to finish my burrata. One test of whether a restaurant cares about its food is the bread. Palio's serves three kinds of bread (rosemary breadsticks, foccaccia and baguette) with homemade olive paste. All three were delicious.

The prices were very reasonable. However, if you are price-sensitive, I recommend asking the price of the specials before ordering them. One of the specials was a lot more expensive than the other items on the menu. Not a big deal, and well worth it, but something to keep in mind if you are on a budget.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Calamari fritti made fresh, fresh made ravioli (mushroom was outstanding) - very good. Nice atmosphere, pleasant and professional service, attractive dining room.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio of Leesburg also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Palio of Leesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio of Leesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.