We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DelMarva Southern Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
DelMarva Southern Cafe
506B East Market St., Leesburg, VA 20176
(703) 669-4866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not great but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I eat here every now and then. It's really just a step up from fast food. Nice place but nothing exceptional.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    6
    6
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oily soggy chicken tenders...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I've been here a few times and although I appreciate the effort in concept of this place, unfortunately they fail at pulling off the simple chicken tender. none of the sauces were as good as I had hoped either..

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not Impressed - Very Disappointing - Poor Value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Today we stopped at Tenderjacks for lunch. I had the Honey Jack Chicken sandwich and fries. My wife had the Salsa Burger with onion straws. After a few bites, we looked at each other and said this was a mistake. My chicken sandwich had a small slice of chicen breast and hardly any flavor. The fries were about the worst I ever had - absolutely no taste. My wife said her onion straws were soggy and the sandwich was overpriced.

We will never return.

For $20 we could have gone to Wegmans or any other nearby cafe in old town Leesburg and had a much more tasty lunch with money left over for the tip.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food, great service and reall value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I wish this place had more locations.... the food is all fresh, tasty and different, there are menu choices to suit all tastes , appetites, budgets and ages.
Service is slick, happy and genuine and you can watch your food being prepared while you wait
Cant wait to have a tenderjacks near us......

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good quality, fast and friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This was my first trip to Tenderjacks and I was a bit apprehensive because my sister and family told it was just so-so. I was pleasantly surprised! We ordered chicken tenders (5) and a choice of 2 sauces (they have MANY), with fries, and a basket of onion straws. With 2 meals, 2 drinks, and the onion straws, our total came to about $26, which I found to be a bit on the expensive side for "fast food". The tenders were very good and the fries were fresh cut. The onion straws were also good. They serve Pepsi products, which normally turns me away, but I found their sweet tea to be a wonderful substitute. The staff was very friendly and service was prompt. I'm glad I didn't listen to my sister because I will definitely be back!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DelMarva Southern Cafe also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to DelMarva Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DelMarva Southern Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.