We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xuan Saigon

Xuan Saigon
11 Fort Evans Rd NE, Leesburg, VA 20176
(703)669-6714
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 170 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I have been in search of a good Vietnamese restaurant, since our favorite restaurant in Chantilly closed. Well, the search continues. We were both very disappointed with Xuan Saigon–especially since the reviews were good. We ordered the spring rolls as an appetizer–they were tasteless. I had the Beef and Chicken stir-fry over crispy noodles. They almost had it right. There was an ingredient missing that left the sauce lacking in flavor. My husband ordered the seafood pho. It also lacked flavor. I ordered a glass of wine that was eight dollars. I’ve paid eight dollars for a glass of wine, but usually it’s at a place where there is valet parking. I think this place might seem good to some, but the flaws are obvious if you are well versed in Asian cooking. On a positive note, the service was good and the place is very clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mango sticky rice!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Tried this on a whim and was very pleased with the cleanliness, freshness and service. Had the Pho #2 and the orange chicken. Both were plentiful and tasty. Didn't want desert but I could tell in the waitresses eye when she asked if we wanted mango sticky rice is was something to behold. Hands down one of the best deserts (outside of peninsula grill coconut cake) I have had in a long time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was passing through Leesburg and ended up here. Respectable Vietnamese fare. Good service. Pho (beef soup) is apparently the restaurant's specialty. My daughter had it and really liked it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Xuan Saigon is just a modest restaurant with not much of an ambiance but the food is consistently good and very reasonable. I've tried pho soup at other local places and Xuan Saigon has them all beat by a mile. The grilled pork with vermicelli noodles is also very good. Most locals order take out from this place but they also have tables for those who prefer to eat in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Delicious and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a lunch special of $ 6,50: spring roll, chicken salad and lemon chicken with steamed rice. Everything was delicious and service was quick and incredibly friendly. Will definetly visit again when in town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xuan Saigon also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Xuan Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xuan Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.