We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good That food in Leesburg, VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aiyara Thai Restaurant

Aiyara Thai Restaurant
5 Catoctin Cir SE, Leesburg, VA 20175-3611
703-771-1131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 169 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: Authentic Thai Food at its best. Fine Dining Carry-Out Delivery
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very good That food in Leesburg, VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went for a quick Sunday lunch, crossing from Maryland via the ferry at White's ferry -- a great way to get over to Virginia from Gaithersburg area. The restaurant is unassuming outside, but nice inside. We started off with very nice mixed drinks -- Thai sunrise, dragonfruit mojito. And then ordered just two entrees for our party of three: a fried rockfish with chilli sauce and drunken noodle with duck (as you can see from the photo, the rockfish is quite big). The amount of food was just right for us and, all in all, we found Aiyara a very good place for Thai food in Leesburg, VA (and, after the lunch, it's only a short drive to shopping at the Leesburg Premium Outlets :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    20
    12
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Farm fresh, authentic and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This restaurant is family owned and operated and it is clearly a labor of love. The restaurant participates in the local "farm to table" program. We recently had dinner there with a large party of nine. Noom, the owner, went out of his way to makes us feel welcome. The restaurant offers a large selection of Thai dishes with varying levels of heat to include: American hot, Mexican hot , Thai hot and Chef Special hot (which I suspect is a somewhere between napalm and phosphorous in heat). The food was fantastic! Noom's mom is the chef. Every dish was made with the freshest ingredients and all looked and tasted delicious. I had the Golden Soft Shell Crabs (topped with sauteed fresh vegetables, egg and curry powder) which was a unbelievable. The ambiance was nice and comfortable. Service, while a little slow, was very friendly. Definitely would visit again next time we are in Leesburg.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHT NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back again...the best part of the trip :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fresh, high quality ingredients cooked to order! The atmosphere is casual but the food is FINE. The service is great...some of the best Thai we've ever had!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Solid option for Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

This Thai restaurant gets just the right amount traffic for fresh food but available seating. The crispy whole flounder with chili sauce is a great choice for two, get one other item if you are a big eater. The green curry is great as is the Tom Yum. Good happy hour too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

As my quest for the best Pad Thai in Northern VA continues, I found myself in Leesburg on business and decided I'd give this restaurant a try.

I ordered my usual Pad Thai with Chicken. I'll keep this short and sweet (like a good Pad Thai!); it wasn't horrible but it was very lacklustre compared to the other Thai restaurants I've been eating at in either Manassas, Fairfax, or Vienna. The chicken was dried out and tough. The noodles were overdone and the flavor was very muted.

To make matters worse; when I visited the men's room prior to leaving I truly vowed never to return. It was filthy and the floor was "greasy!" I'd hate to see the parts of the restaurant where the public does not wander. No thank you Aiyara--I'll stick with others!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aiyara Thai Restaurant also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County

Been to Aiyara Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiyara Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.