We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for small kids who love animals!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leesburg Animal Park

Leesburg Animal Park
19270 James Monrow Highway, Leesburg, VA 20175
703 433 0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good for small kids who love animals!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Took my grand daughter to this little animal park in Leesburg. We were staying in Falls Church and looking for things to keep her entertained. The AAA Tour book highlighted the pony ride so I knew we had to go.

I got her the child's VIP package which included the pony ride and a cup of food for the animals. She spent the first hour feeding an small assortment of animals, but loved the young deer best.

The Pony ride was short, but she really enjoyed it. It got a little warm so I bought her a Hello Kitty popsicle to enjoy!

We took the hay ride and stopped by the pond which was stocked with HUGH fish hungry for feed!

It was a Monday so not too busy which was nice. Noticed a number of German tourist with children who also seemed to enjoy the park!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Leesburg animal park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This small animal park works well for a quick afternoon activity of fun with the children. The cost is reasonable. The animals are well maintained. The isn't a real large assortment of animals but it's plenty enough for a fun interactive time for a smaller child. There is the opportunity for a camel ride or a pony side for an extra fee. They can feed the animals in the petting areas. There is plenty of play ground equipment and a tractor ride out through the field to see the zebras. They have a small concessions stand and a small gift shop. Help guard the children's feed cups in the petting area as the animals can get a little aggressive since they are used to getting fed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not the best one in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We went during the fall when they had the Halloween stuff set up too. Nice hay ride, some fun Halloween scenery. I've been to other animal parks in the area that were better this one is pretty small, even for a small animal park. Not a bad Halloween experience, but done of the farms in the area do a better job.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun, Small..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a fun thing to do if you are in Leesburg looking for something to do, especially with kids. It's a MUCH smaller version of the Natural Bridge Zoo.. I think the Natural Bridge zoo is the best of the "petting zoo" type places, but the Leesburg Animal Park is fun. I was a bit surprised with the cost but it was still decently fun and worth going!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice for the kids, but pretty small for a decent fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's great to have it around, and we have gone many time, and will go back. However, considering the price, I wish they had more there to do. It's a 30-40 min experience if you take your time. Hard to swallow spending real dollars for that. I'd rarther drive an hour to DC or the Catoctin Animal park which is awesome by the way...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leesburg Animal Park also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Leesburg Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesburg Animal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.