We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to go if you get a special deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leesburg Animal Park

Leesburg Animal Park
19270 James Monrow Highway, Leesburg, VA 20175
703 433 0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 71 things to do in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place to go if you get a special deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We took our almost 2-yr old son to the park. We have been to the Reston Zoo before. The facility is not as nice as the Reston Zoo but they are very similar. Lots of small animals for kids to see and feed, many of which I cannot name. They do have the standard animals like turtles, camels, horses, pigs, goats, donkeys, chickens that roam around and hang out with other animals. I didn't see sinks for washing hands but there were a few hand sanitizer dispenser. The entire place is outdoor except the little half open gift shop and the little hut which is the ticketing office, so pick a day when it's not likely to rain. There's a little playground area and a moon bounce as well. The wagon ride was pretty boring. Half of the times we could not hear the guide and my son was not too interested being confined in the trailer. Other than that he had a good time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Pricey for what is essentially a petting zoo.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

While the facility is very well kept and the animals all look good, I believe this is pretty expensive for what you get. Kids 2-12 are $8.50 each and adults $10.50 so a family of 4 is about $40. All you really get for that is a chance to see and pat the animals, play on the playgrounds, use the "moon bounce" and take a "hayride" in a trailer pulled by a tractor. If the kids want a pony ride that is $3.50 extra (unless you buy the kids "VIP Pass" which includes a pony ride and a cup of food to feed the animals) and if you want food to feed the animals that is extra as well.

There are lots of animals for the kids to feed - goats, sheep, deer, llamas, alpacas, goats, donkeys, ponies, camels, etc. - some are penned up and some are out in a "petting zoo" area were the kids can walk among the animals. Of course like any place where the animals are conditioned to the fact people bring food to feed them, the animals can be kind of aggressive, particularly from a kids perspective, and some, like sheep, may jump up on you trying to get food. There are 2 small playgrounds for the kids as well, and there are some opportunities to listen to personnel tell you about various animals. The only toilets are port-o-potties and they only seem to sell a few boxed drinks and ice cream items. There is a vending machine for soda, but that was broken when we visited, and there is also a small picnic area - expect to have some flies around with all the animals.

As I said, the place is well kept up and the animals look to be in good shape, I just think it is too much money for what you get out of it, especially when you can go to a place like Frying Pan park for free.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Standard petting zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We took our niece here for the fall celebration and she had a lot of fun. There were activities like face painting and blow-up houses in addition to the animal farm. The hay ride was fun for the whole family. Unfortunately, there was a pumpkin shortage so we didn't get to pick our pumpkins, which was supposed to be part of our ticket. The adult price was a little steep considering we were all really there to basically follow around a 6 year old.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Leesburg Animal Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We go almost every year we love it lots to do for kids even the adults can enjoy them selves and they usually have coupons on there web site http://www.leesburganimalpark.com/
I find the best time to go with extra activities is for Pumpkinville in the fall but still they are great before then as well

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for kids ages 6 and up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I made the mistake of taking my 3 year old (who loves animals) to the Leesburg Animal Park. She was a little young to do everything and we spent $22.00 on tickets just to get in for the two of us! I will make sure to take her again in a couple of years when she can enjoy more for the money. I did see really young children there but most were with older siblings that were enjoying everything more. I was a little disappointed with the variety of things in comparison to the price.
I do think it would be worth the money with children a little older!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leesburg Animal Park also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to Leesburg Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leesburg Animal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.