We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for focused conference & training - NO Distractions!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The National Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The National Conference Center
18980 Upper Belmont Place, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for focused conference & training - NO Distractions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The facility was once owned by Xerox and is designed to provide a comfortable, distraction-free training and / or conference experience. The facility is completely self-contained including fitness center and cafeteria. Walking trails provide excellent opportunity to enjoy fall color!
This is a great value for your conference as it is all inclusive. Evening excursions provide guests an opportunity to be shuttled to nearby Outlet Mall , Traditional Mall and Wine Tasting event on the weekends. (shuttle fees $10 to $15 per person). Shuttle to and from airport provided for nominal fee - no need to rent a car!

Room Tip: Rooms are generally assigned based upon your conference and or event. Food is located in the NORTH...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was speaking at a conference being held at the center. I was given a "guest" room in the North Building, 5th floor with a decent view. The room was appointed okay. It had a strange layout wherein there was some wasted spaces, but a big living room and two flat panel televisions.

The room was clean.

The bed had clean and crisp linens, a ditch in the center of the mattress from being old and worn. The shower is small and could be bigger especially the way the room is laid out and since they don't use a curved shower curtain rod the curtain keeps hitting you.

There were two air conditioners in the room. Only one worked well, the other made strange noises and didn't cool the area of the room that you slept in. It was walled off just enough to be hot while the living room would be nice and cool.

The staff were curious and kind, but they didn't look clean cut.

The wifi doesn't work in the rooms because these buildings are like something out of the x-files. They have huge thick walls, cafeteria style dining, and its "strange". It feels like a weird government experience where you have some "nice" stuff but its still a institutional type structure.

I have it overall a three. I don't like being places that feel like a prison facility that has been revamped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I am giving this place 2 stars in spite of the fact that the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the wedding I attended was very smoothly run with a very good dinner/reception following the service ...

... however ....

… I am giving it two stars because I would never even think of staying the night here again. The rooms are located in concrete bunkers that seemed to have been designed by a graduate of the Soviet School of Public Accommodation. Each of the hallways is stark and depressing and all look exactly alike... you need a building specific map (available at the desk) otherwise you're in big trouble. At least one of the buildings is accessible through a subterranean labyrinth where the ubiquitous concrete has been painted a uniform institutional white (also the way to some guest facilities) ... be sure to avoid it if you have depression issues.

The rooms were clean, but rather dated and run down with an after-construction bathroom plopped into the middle of the room that created a very disjointed aspect. The whole room experience was rather unpleasant.

To reiterate, the staff made the best of what they have here, but the buildings are neither inviting, convenient nor comfortable. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The National Conference Center is simultaneously a beautiful facility and a rather stark location. The site is located in Northern Virginia, close to Tyson's Corners and Dulles airport. It is beautifully located in a park like setting and the buildings a lovely. The center is made up of two main buildings plus a center registration area. The building has sleeping rooms around the parameter and meeting rooms in the core. There is also a large dining room and a cocktail lounge.

The sleeping rooms are small with a double bed, large desk area, chest of drawers and flat screen tv. The bathroom is normal hotel room sized with a shower. The room is not fancy but extremely clean. The air-conditioning worked marvelously (it was in the high 90's the whole time I was there). The rooms are built in pods with shared sitting areas for every ten or so rooms. Almost everyone from our small group was in the same location so the sitting area became our common "living room." The only complaint was that there is a limited range of TV channels to watch but all the basics, CNN, etc. are provided.

The meeting rooms are outstanding. Very comfortable chairs, well designed and fully equipped. There is a break area for each group of meeting rooms with coffee and soda plus some snacks.

The dinning room is gigantic and is served from two cafeteria lines. There is a full breakfast, a nice lunch with a choice of entrees, hamburgers, salad bar, etc. Dinner is similar to lunch. The food was basic but well prepared. Nothing to rave about, but also nothing to complain about. The Black Olive cocktail lounge is a sports bar with TVs , pool table and darts. The bartender, Wanda, actually seemed to remember what everyone drank after the second night and the drink prices were well below "hotel prices."

Everything is poured concrete so it seems a bit cold and it takes two days to find your way around through the maze of hallways. (the key is to walk outside if the weather is good--it ends up being much shorter). Overall it felt like being in a very well maintained college dorm. But it serves the purpose of providing an excellent conference facility at very reasonably prices. I was there for five days and would book another conference there without question. Every staff person I met was outstanding and the front desk people could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is in the same building as your meeting rooms. Otherwise it could be a very long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hewesa,

Thank you for such an extensive review of our property. You offered great advice for planners and business travelers which we appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear your group utilized the area outside the guest rooms as a "common living room," as that's the intentions of the space. Thank you for appreciating our proper meeting room equipment; it's an worth-while conference center investment for your meeting success. I look forward to sharing your feedback about Wanda and the front desk. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,


Sarah Vining
The National Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The facility is extremely large with about 4 enormous seperate buildings containing guest rooms, lecture halls, and dining facilities. If I were to guess, I would estimate the building was built in the 1970s, with no apparent logical design layout. I was there for 5 days, and during that time got lost every day, including upon check-out. There is no direct route from one building to the next - perhaps the idea was to allow the guests to enjoy the scenery? Even within the buildings, it is anyone's guess as how to get from the front door to the dining room or your room.

As a plus - everyone working at The National Conference Center is very friendly and helpful. The food was good and had a lot of variety.

The down-side was definitely the rooms. They were very small - my suitcase had to be carried over the bed because it was too wide to roll past the bed and the bathroom wall. The airconditioner cycles very loudly every 7-10 minutes, waking you up. When I checked in I found a palmetto bug (looks like a 5 inch cockroach) dead in the middle of my bathroom floor. Room service was very helpful when I asked someone to clean it up and check under the bed for more :) I never found another one, but I met someone who said that he found the same type of bug three days in a row in his room. We were both on the 4th floor of the blue building - so maybe it's a problem isolated to that area? But to clinch the review - I found a bug bite here and there over the course of my time there, but on the last morning I found six very itchy bug bites on my legs and arms. I had checked the bed for bed bugs on my first morning and didn't see any, but whatever bit me was definitely in the bed.

I left my clothes and toiletries in the suitcase, never unpacked, and kept my suitcaze zippered closed at all times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review NCC. We would love for you to enjoy the scenery and the outdoors. However, the best tip for navigating across campus is to focus on the building and meeting room number. For instance, N4.108 is North Building > Fourth Floor > Room 108. I consider the colors a good way to jog your memory of a general area.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the food and everyone was very friendly. Unfortunately due to our proximity to the great outdoors, there can be the occasional occurrence of "wildlife." I spoke to the Front Desk and we do not have any reports of bed bugs. I apologize for the incident and hope we can make it right next time during your stay.

We'd like to see you again for your next event!

Sincerely,


Sarah Vining
The National Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I recently stayed here for a wedding and the place was nice. The suites are large compared to the standard room. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Having the wedding at West Belmont Place made it easy to go back and forth to the room when needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The staff was extremely helpful and provided great service in all faucets. Rooms are small, but the "compound" was enormous and definitely built for large functions. Should accommodate any size group, but, I can't tell you how many times I got lost! It is also far from any public transit, so, don't plan on going anywhere if you are here w/o a vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review NCC. You're right that NCC is a large facility. I'm sorry to hear that you were lost; all certified conference centers are required to have dedicated conference rooms separate from living and leisure areas. However our sales and conference planning managers do try their best to secure meeting space that is convenient for the groups to reach the dining room and their guest rooms.

I hope we can have you back with us and help you plan a fun leisure activity off-site. We have a shuttle service that runs regularly to see the DC monuments, Loudoun County's wine country, the Leesburg outlet mall and the Dulles Town Center (see here: http://www.conferencecenter.com/media/docs/pdf/GetAwayandExplore.pdf). It's more economical than renting a car if you're wanting to get away and explore.

Please let us know next time you'll be back. Thank you again.

Sarah Vining
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The National Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The National Conference Center

Address: 18980 Upper Belmont Place, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Conference Center offers the ultimate learning environment for residential training and distraction-free meetings in a wooded, campus setting near Leesburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The National Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The National Hotel Leesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.