We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a conference!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The National Conference Center to your Saves list
The National Conference Center
18980 Upper Belmont Place, Leesburg, VA 20176   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good place for a conference!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

One of my professional duties is to plan large binational conferences at various locations around the country. My federal agency held a seminar at the NCC this past week and we were required to stay at here. The agency scuttlebutt was that it was a horrible place to stay.

So with that expectation, I checked in expecting the worst. The important thing to note is, this isn't a hotel. Its a conference center. The distance from the check in desk to your sleeping room is very distant. Lugging your suitcase and other personal gear from your car to the registration to your sleeping room is quite the physical task. Not to mention that the parking lot for your building (there is a north and south building) is also far away. After you get to your room, you are a little in shock over the very austere accommodations. Again...not a hotel. It does have a flat screen TV but the signal is either being bounced from the cable provider, past Mars, then Saturn and then to the NCC.

The entire sleeping room section is hard a first to comprehend. They use a digital numbering system with State names for hallways and throw in some color combinations to identify sections of the hotel. It takes a good half day to remember how to find your way back to your hotel. Then you start to experiment with alternate paths to find your way. Eventually, you master where everything is and its not an issue. If you have any physical limitations (I have a hard time with steps) ask to be located next to/near an elevator.

The really nice thing about this place is the networking opportunities that it facilitates. Most professional conferences you attend you go to network. This location is perhaps the best place I have ever been to for that purpose. The center has a nice cafeteria with a very wide range of food choices. I am on the Dukan Diet so finding food choices to stay on my diet was very easy. You can have all you want and the food is always well prepared. No its not a four star restaurant, but its good and I never heard anyone complain about it being bad.

The exercise facility was good. If you are a free weight user you will really like it but I just use the treadmill and the ones they had were not the top of the line ones you see at most legacy hotels. They also don't provide towels to use which calls in to question any germs that stay behind on the equipment.

This is a special purpose conference center. It had excellent facilities for large, medium, and small break out rooms. The sleeping rooms are sparse, but I can say very comfortable. The room has a heating/cooling unit that works well....sometimes too well as you get cold...but that is better than one that sounds loud and doesn't work at all.

If you are planning on having a large conference and want to keep your participants focused this is the place. People are reluctant to leave the facility and that increases/maximizes the networking opportunities for your participants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The National Conference Center. It sounds like you fully grasp the concept of a conference center - clear divisions between meeting space and guest rooms, distraction-free environment and all inclusive packages.

I did share the feedback about the cable reception with our executive team; thank you for telling us. We'll look into making the adjustments.

Thank you for sharing such great insight about the fitness center and the front desk member who was able to accommodate your need for a nearby elevator; I hope others will read your review and feel comfortable with making requests as we always try our best to fulfill those special requests.

I'm also happy to hear that the dining room provided you with plentiful food options to stick with your diet. Traveling anywhere can cause someone to easily slip from their healthy eating habits, so I commend you for doing so and taking advantage of the array.

Thank you again for all your great points that sell the conference center for what it is - a purposed built training facility. Please let us know next time you'll be back. We look forward to seeing you then.

Sincerely,

Sarah Vining
The National Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The conference center is in an amazing location amongst huge trees and built to be swallowed by nature but the building itself is a maze. getting to your room includes going up and down elevators, walking along endless underground corridors and trying to work out exactly which block, on which floor on which continent your room is.
The Center is used by Government agencies, army personnel and the like. The rooms are tiny tiny and like student dorm rooms. Walls are painted cinder block, concrete everywhere. The dining hall is cavernous with buffet stations and a conveyor belt to take your empty trays.
Do not honey moon here and, if you value your sanity stay in somewhere more homey!!

Room Tip: no such thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi Archie,

Thank you for taking the time to review The National Conference Center. We appreciate your kind words about the retreat-like outdoor setting. We only accept non-transient business and we're a purpose built conference center; fortunately our guests are business travelers such as yourself. We agree, it's not the environment for a honeymoon; it's intended for corporate and organizational training and meetings. In terms of way-finding, I always tell guests not to worry about the street names and just focus on the numbers. For instance, N4.250 is north building > fourth floor > room 250. I hope this helps you during your next stay. Thank you for the high-rating on location; we're happy to hear you value the distraction-free environment near DC.

Thank you again for your feedback, Archie. We hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,


Sarah Vining
The National Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Staff is great and always a warm smile and hello as you navigate the maze. Spiders all over window in hallway kept me creeped out during stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It's always great to hear how helpful our staff is; it's said that the architectural layout was structured this way to build camaraderie among colleagues walking to meetings or classes together. Thank you for letting us know about the hallway corridor window. I just put in a work order to have it cleared.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sarah Vining
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This venue is not only excellent for a conference but the rooms are comfortable, the meals are outstanding. With 2 chefs overseeing the meal preparation, all aspects of the culinary experience while at the NCC are covered very well. The staff is eager to assist any guest. Many of the employees have been working there for many years and are happy there. This is reflected in their attitude and helpfulness.

Room Tip: The suites are a little more spacious than the regular rooms but all are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The National Conference Center was designed specifically for trainings; however, they attempted to make learning more palatable with wonderful meals, many amenities, and a courteous, helpful staff. It is a very large center, and hallways and tunnels connect all the buildings, which is a plus as you do not need to go outside, if you do not care to. The one downside is the many tunnels and hallways with limited directions, which are not very clear. Staff members must be accustomed to the numerous requests for directions and assistance, but they were very kind, and many walked with me to ensure I got to where I needed to go. Everyone greeted me with a smile. The food, served cafeteria style, was exceptional. They had many unusual offering for those who wanted to try something new, but there were equally as many choices of traditional American fare. At breaks from the meetings, refreshments were available, and fresh fruit was in abundance.

Room Tip: All rooms are very small, designed for work. Some have only showers, while others have a bath/showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We're absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay at the conference center and were able to see the value in NCC's distraction-free campus. Your headline, "Learning made more enjoyable" is exactly our intention. We're happy you were able to focus on the task at hand and we were able to meet the expectations of your organization. I look forward to sharing your feedback about the dining room with our Executive Chef and his team; that's wonderful you were able to try something new during your stay! We also appreciate your room tip as we do try our best to accommodate special requests when possible. Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to having you back with us again soon.


Sarah Vining
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have visited the NCC five times now in the past six months for various training sessions. Each visit has been unique but the consistent thread has been the wonderful staff and great food. The facilities are perfect for small or large conference gatherings and offer myriad breakout and plenary rooms. Attendees are also able to use the gyms to keep up exercise routines and it is close enough to Leesburg to enjoy the attractions. A good deal!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the grounds so you won't go wrong there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Sharal,

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and I'll be sure to share your kind words about our staff and the great food with our front desk and executive chef. It's wonderful to hear you took advantage of the fitness center. Thank you for the helpful advice to others on the proximity to Leesburg and view of the serene setting from every window. We hope you'll be back again soon.

Thank you,


Sarah Vining
National Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed here one night for a conference and received some of the most pleasant customer service ever! I would prefer not to stay here for conferences, however, as it is most confusing to get around. Food was yummy!

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCCmeet, Public Relations Manager at The National Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear you were pleased by our customer service and friendly staff. It's our mission to reach beyond your needs and delight you prior to arrival, during your stay and after departure.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at The National Conference Center.

Thank you again.

Sarah Vining
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The National Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The National Conference Center

Address: 18980 Upper Belmont Place, Leesburg, VA 20176
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 917
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Conference Center offers the ultimate learning environment for residential training and distraction-free meetings in a wooded, campus setting near Leesburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The National Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The National Hotel Leesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.