We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a special trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
7 S. King Street, Leesburg, VA
703-777-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 175 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After we had gotten several recommendations to visit the Wine Kitchen in Leesburg (there are other locations too!) we decided to make a special trip since we are a good 40 min from it. We went for a late lunch early dinner since we heard there is usually a wait - however they can call or text you when your table is ready and you can walk around the quaint town.

We had the Sandwich – Croque Monsieur (think gooey ham and cheese) / served with side salad and WK Cuban / Baker Farms Pork Loin / Smithfield ham /
House-pickle / Gruyere cheese / house-made chips.
The Croque sandwich was magical and we added the soup of the day which was a tomato bisque so rich and flavorful and the perfect match for the sandwich - a grilled cheese and tomato soup for grownups (the side salad was light and balanced with the meal)!
The Cuban was good, pickles were delightful on the sandwich, chips were thin, crisp and salty but there must have been Horseradish or something on it that at times was overwhelming.I also got a side of Mac n’ cheese that was to die for - I had to keep my husband from devouring it all!!!

They are reasonably priced as we ordered waters two lunches and two additional sides and our bill came to $34 before tip.

We will be back (just hopefully without any run-ins with random horseradish in the dish) !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    57
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Well Worth Waiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Wine Kitchen in Leesburg opened during the recession and had standing room only. They never looked back, with regular customers and word of mouth newcomers keeping it busy for lunch and dinner, six days a week. They have a wide and constantly changing selection of wines, both international and local, and serve food worthy of a pricy resort restaurant. Go early, or sit at the bar and enjoy some wine while you wait for a table. it drew the First Lady of Virginia for a repeat visit, and Martha Stewart came after hearing good things. A gem in the historic district of Leesburg.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A marriage of wine and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The name says it all. Wine and food here go hand in hand. The tastings they have are superb and I highly recommend getting a few with your meal. We noshed on a few different items on the menu but the cheese place was terrific. It's hard to rave about a cheese plate but the unique cheeses along with the wines made it a treat. Highly recommend you try here one afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A wonderful local type restaurant in downtown Leesburg. Food was excellent. I enjoyed the local wine flight. Got to experience three very good local wines. Atmosphere is laid back and easy going Entertainment was perfect for setting.. one fellow and his guitar. I would go back in a heartbeat if it were local to me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW! The TripAdvisor reviews were right on!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited Leesburg Outlet Mall and looked for great place for lunch. Wine Kitchen came out on top. We were not disappointed. Park in the City garage around the block and walk right to restaurant. Wonderful greeting. Had to wait a few minutes. Staff filled us in on the menu. Offered cold, FILTERED water. Excellent!
Wine, food and services wonderful. This place is not to be missed. Unique food with lots of great wine offerings. Not a big restaurant so imaging fills up at night. This is definitely a must visit again. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.