We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yup, it's a winner.........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
7 S. King Street, Leesburg, VA
703-777-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 161 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yup, it's a winner.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

New to the area and anxious to find the best places to impress visiting friends and family. Have been to numerous DC restaurants and have to say this tops almost all of them. Yes, it's a bit loud, and certainly cozy. The wine offerings are fun and varied, but go here for the food. We split the gnocchi, light and very flavorful and then I had scallops and hubby had the mahi mahi. Both were fresh, perfectly prepared and oh so delicious. Loved the sides and sauces. The main dishes aren't huge so plan to have a starter, salad or dessert. We cleaned our plates and left full but not stuffed. Can't wait to return with visitors.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    62
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing! Go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My Husband and I choose this place based on its Yelp reviews, and man, are we glad we did! The place is cute, but super small. I am not sure if they take reservations, but we went for an early meal (6pm) and only had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated. They do have a bar. Service was good, and what I assume might have been the manager or owner was super nice – saying hello, bye, and thank you. They had a decent wine list, and more fun, a bunch of different wine flights to choose from (3 different wines for approx. $10). The food was amazing. I got fish; my husband got the ‘chicken & waffles’ (quail). Everything was awesomely good. I wish I could have ordered a second dish. We did get dessert and we licked that plate as well! Very fresh and the restaurant has its individual style as far as dishes. I wish there was one of these near us!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma WA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely Bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoyed our delicious lunch at the Wine Kitchen. Not really planning ahead, we wandered through Leesburg looking for a lunch place. The wine kitchen had the most interesting menu and it was nearly full. We lucked out - and had an amazing meal. The philosophy of locally grown and raised comes together beautifully in a menu where it is hard to making a decision - it is all so appealing. Loved the wine flights too - a nice way to do some wine tasting and you can buy the wine by the bottle (discounted) to take home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millwood, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just had a delightful experience at The Wine Kitchen. It was just my husband and myself, so we opted to sit at the bar, the stools have backs, we did a flight of wine each with a app of cheese fondue and meatballs..it's all farm to table, the staff is knowledgable and friendly. It's defiently a place we will return to!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Maybe a 3+”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped at the Wine Kitchen in Leesburg, VA after a morning of hiking. We wanted something low key - we were in walking clothes - but with good food and a selection of wines by the glass. The Wine Kitchen was the most promising place open on Leesburg's King Street at 2:00 p.m. on a holiday Sunday afternoon. The place is tiny but nicely appointed, with a pretty bar. The staff is knowledgeable and pleasant. They offer a variety of wines, including a flight of three wines to test, and we enjoyed trying the white flight together with a cheese board of three cheeses. The cheeses, with the exception of a Wisconsin blue, which was a lovely surprise, were not inspiring - an overly smoky gouda and a grana padano being the other two offered.
We had light lunch food - a sprout and strawberry salad which was pretty but not particularly tasty and a very well toasted croque monsieur - which was more of a grilled cheese and ham. Over all, the food was fine but not exceptional. Unfortunately on Sunday, they apparently have live entertainment - a singer - who was much too loud for the tiny restaurant and who made it impossible to have a quiet glass of wine and conversation.
Over all, I'd say that the staff tries hard and works hard - but someone needs to pay attention to the overall experience and decide what they really want to deliver.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.