We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Kitchen

The Wine Kitchen
7 S. King Street, Leesburg, VA
703-777-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 168 restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“really great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my meal here. the service was fantastic, the environment was intimate, and the food was delicious and fresh. You really can't ask for much better than this.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    127
    48
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Classy, fantastic, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had an absolutely fabulous meal here with a couple of girlfriends. There was a bit of a wait - which surprised me on a Tuesday night - but it was well worth it. My puttanesca was superb and a very reasonable portion. A few large shrimp and several juicy mussels. Yum. I had the pinot flight and was especially partial to the pinot nero from Italy, so I bought a bottle. A bargain for $19. Take home bottles are $10 less than the menu prices. As an added bonus, there was a free wine tasting so I had a free flight of reds before sitting down to dinner. Great experience and I would definitely eat here again. Quality, locally sourced food and a wide variety of wines for a wide range of budgets. Super cute decor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Coq au Vin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great food here for lunch with the Coq au Vin a highlight. Service was good and the music by the Hard Swimmin' Fish was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great find: inexpensive farm to table in Leesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Wine Kitchen is a comfortable, unpretentious small restaurant in an old building in the center of Leesburg in northern Virginia. Menus feature local ingredients, and in fact while we were having lunch a local farmer was making a delivery. The flights of wine are well selected, though I found the descriptive write-ups for the wines a bit too cute. Choices included Italian, Spanish, and local wines, and you can buy a bottle of one you like for $10 off the regular (restaurant) price. We bought a bottle of the local Chardonnay which illustrated just how far northern Virginia wines have come in recent years.

Roasted beets and arugula salad was a terrific starter, though garnished with hazelnuts (one of us has an allergy). Roasted rabbit ragout with truffle oil and fresh tagliatelle was excellent and reasonably priced at $17, and another tasty bargain was the "German" mussels, served with spaetzle and smoked sausage in a white wine sauce at $11. The highlight might have been the dessert -- ginger-grapefruit curd with rosemary cookies -- a perfect balance of flavor and lightness.

The Wine Kitchen surprised us with the high quality and imaginative menus at a very reasonable price point. The owner/chef came out twice to see how we were doing, and clearly is very much on top of things. It's also nice to see an old downtown area like this making a comeback, and supporting local farmers. We will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everyone loves this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It has always got a crowd even when all the other restaurants are slow. that should say it all but i will elaborat a little. THe food and wine are thebest in the county as is the chef of the Wine Kitchen. Go and have some fun!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Kitchen also viewed

Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Wine Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.